OB Appointment

13 Oct

Had my monthly OB appointment yesterday. Only it wasn’t my OB but some other bearded doctor.

Looks like my placenta is at the front top of the uterus – it was interfering with him getting the baby’s heart beat on doppler. Apparently, placenta is pulsing just like heart – for the heartbeat-like sounds that we kept hearing while trying to listen to the baby, turned out to be placenta heartbeat. And then once we heard the baby heart, there were some other weird noises. It turns out you can hear the baby move in the uterus. Whoa! And, of course, he commented that the baby is very active. Well, duh. I know that.

All in all, things are good. He did some weird sort of finger measuring of my belly and told me that my little boy has obviously been reading books for he’s developing exactly by the book.

He told me the heart-flutter thing, the liver-aches, the occasional burning discharge – all normal. Ah, the wonders of being pregnant. I sometimes feel like I am a renter, living in someone else’s body, not used to weird sounds, smells, and other happenings… Yes, I smell differently. Not bad, just different. So bizarre.

The baby gets its quiet and busy days. Today, it moved a lot. Never kicked, just… swam about there. Yesterday it was quiet. Overall, there’s less kicking and more movement. Sometimes I can feel the movement with my hand, but not on the inside – so I guess at times baby moves and I don’t even know. I shall remember it later on, when I freak out about baby not moving (oh I am sure that will happen!)

Got my maternity medical compression pantyhose. Haven’t tried it on yet, but planning to sport it to a housewarming this Saturday, wearing a maternity dress… Hope it helps the painful spot on my leg!

Mmm. That’s all for now πŸ˜‰

8 Responses to “OB Appointment”

  1. St. Elsewhere October 14, 2011 at 9:18 AM #

    Yup, OBs can actually measure your ‘tentative’ how-far-along with this finger over the navel measuring.

    Glad everything is well with the baby.

    Take Care!

    • zygotta October 14, 2011 at 10:13 AM #

      I didn’t know that – so cool!
      although, come and think of it, they do diagnose problems with liver and stomach and such “by touch”… so why now with babies? πŸ˜‰

      • St. Elsewhere October 17, 2011 at 4:13 AM #

        LOL…yup!

        They can approximately date the baby….as we advance into the pregnancy, the uterus grows in size and they can figure it out from it.

        • zygotta October 17, 2011 at 6:37 PM #

          I wonder if they can also tell whether the baby’s in the right position?

  2. Mrs. E October 14, 2011 at 9:34 AM #

    I’m glad everything you’re experiencing is normal and the baby is textbook perfect =)

  3. ifserenitynow October 14, 2011 at 10:55 AM #

    Are you having swelling in your feet? Just wondering why you got some compression hose. My feet, ankles and calves are so swollen it is a joke for me to try and get shoes on. They just don’t fit whatsoever. I only have two options of footwear right now. Barefoot and a pair of black flats I bought in a size and half bigger. Fun!

    • zygotta October 14, 2011 at 11:02 AM #

      No, no swelling to speak of (not yet, anyway) – but I have pains in my legs that could only be the beginning of varicose veins (which run in my family). There’s a spot at the back of my right led, under the knee, that hurts if I walk for more than 5 minutes or if I stand with my weight fully on that leg. And I can see first signs of a tell-tale bruise there.

      So my sis recommended I get the hose. They compress the lower part of your legs, helping the blood get back to your body.

      And I am prepared for swelling if it comes – bought a pair of knock-off uggs. I am sure THOSE will fit and will keep me warm in winter πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

