24 Weeks

16 Oct

24weeks. No matter which source to turn to, we’ve reached viability. Chances are very slim, but they’re there. Baby will mostly be putting on fat now – all the organs and systems, as far as I understand are in place now. He’s practicing breathing and is getting fatter to keep himself warm once he arrives in this world. Amazing.

Baby is very active, moving along. At times I feel like he’s somersaults in there, sometimes it feels like he’s feeling his way around (as if trying to find a loose brick in his imprisonment cell, looking for an escape route, lol), sometimes it feels like stretching, sometimes – well, just kicking 😉

It never hurts me, but sometimes he hits some nerve and makes me start. And even makes me jump a little in surprise 😉

He is very active in the mornings when I wake up. If I stay in bed for a while, he’ll keep swimming around, letting me and my hubby feel his moves.

I talk to him. Tell him how much we both love him. Let him get used to his name, to my voice, my intonations of love and care. I often sing in the shower – for the baby. I rarely used to sing before.

Funny thing: at some point after getting past the midmark (20 weeks), weeks became less important – I am measuring more in months now. As in “I am 5.5 months pregnant”. As in “3.5 months to go”. I now sometimes get a little lost in weeks. Especially since online sources tell you what happens at 24 weeks – while my book talks about what happens during the 25th week. Which is confusing.

So if in the beginning it was all about day of the cycle, and after the BFP it was still weeks AND days (as in 10w5d), and then more like 15 weeks and a half – now I am measuring in months.

Next milestones I am looking forward to: having less than 100 days to go (hitting the double-digits) and crossing over the trimester #3 (28 weeks, I think?)

All in all, all is well. I have never been happier – on all fronts of my life. I sometimes feel scared – it’s too good. I am scared something bad’s gonna happen. But I waive these thoughts away. I brush them under the carpet. If something bad will happen – I’ll deal with that then. Now – I need to enjoy. Bask in my happiness.

6 Responses to “24 Weeks”

  1. St. Elsewhere October 17, 2011 at 4:25 AM #

    Gorgeous milestone, eh?

    Yup, term after week 27 is third trimester. And guess what, I am also waiting for the last 100 days to chime in.

    • zygotta October 17, 2011 at 6:37 PM #

      🙂
      I even put a reminder in my calendar or the 100-day mark 😉

  2. embracingtherain October 20, 2011 at 5:37 PM #

    Congratulations on reaching viability!

  3. eighteenyears October 22, 2011 at 9:46 AM #

    Very exciting!

Leave a Reply

