Down with Food!

18 Oct

My weight gain was very good for a while. I gained like 10 pounds over the first 18 weeks of pregnancy. And then another 8 in the following 6 weeks – as my appetite spiked (as well as the baby’s growth accelerated – he’s now growing and gaining fat). I am only 24 weeks and +18 pounds already.

I am getting concerned about the weight gain. And, to be quite honest, I am not as hungry any longer, but I don’t seem to be able to stop eating. It’s like a habit. Huge lunch, then a huge apple, then a huge peach, then a small snack when I get home, then a supper when my hubby comes home, then maybe another peach… I eat all the time – without being hungry. Which is bad.

Today, I came home and drank a cup of tea with a few pieces of cheese. And then ate a peach later. And I am fine. I don’t need a supper. The big lunch with the fruits that follow it is enough. The baby is big enough now to leave little space for food. I feel unpleasantly full from all this eating.

That’s it, I gotta stop eating when I am not hungry. Or I will gain too much weight – and the baby will be huge – and I will require c-section. Or I will develop gestational diabetes. Or high blood pressure.

Down with food!

6 Responses to “Down with Food!”

  1. St. Elsewhere October 19, 2011 at 8:19 AM #

    Zygotta, how much weight is okay on your frame during pregnancy is decided by your BMI.

    Were you overweight to begin with? Has your doc specifically asked you keep track of your weight gain?

    If not, don’t say no to food. Just break into smaller bites. Divide your lunch into two halves or something of that kind.

    I too gained weight rapidly uptil a fortnight, but my weight is now stable and the baby is gaining weight, so it is all good. But then, I don’t have much leeway about how much weight to gain. I am in the overweight cateory.

    • zygotta October 19, 2011 at 8:38 AM #

      I am not saying no to food – I am not dumb, I know I need to feed the baby. I am saying no to food that I don’t need.

      If I am not hungry – why eat? That’s all. Eat whenever I am hungry, not because there’s a bowl of salad in front of me and I feel like I need to eat its entire contents.

  2. Shannon October 19, 2011 at 12:05 PM #

    I am right there with you! First trimester was awful with this pregnancy and I just ate and ate and ate to keep the nausea away. Problem is, I kept eating…and eating….and eating, even when I felt better and didn’t need to. Whoops. I also noticed I ate WAY more at work than I did on the weekends (quantity and frequency) which was when I realized I could probably start backing off the “habitual eating”.

    So needless to say, I gained a bunch of weight at first, but now the gain is leveling off to what the books say is “normal”. I also passed my glucose test (yay!) and my doc’s not concerned about the gain, so I’m just preparing myself to find a good gym after baby comes! 😀

    • zygotta October 19, 2011 at 1:00 PM #

      my OB has a very distorted picture of my weight gain
      she saw me at 3.5 months for the first time – before then I was a fertility clinic’s patient
      so my OB doesn’t have an idea of how much I gained in the first trimester
      and then on my second visit I came so badly constipated, that when my bowels finally started moving, I lost like 6 pounds
      so while she thinks I gained 2 pounds between visit #2 and #3, I actually gained 8 pounds (because the had a false read of my over-stuffed bowels at visit 2, not my actual weight)

      • Shannon October 19, 2011 at 2:15 PM #

        That makes sense! At least eventually you’ll run out of room to eat too much, so things should even out again. lol

        • zygotta October 19, 2011 at 2:23 PM #

          I already am running out of space
          but keep shoving the food down, regardless

Leave a Reply

