From Cold to Halloween

21 Oct

Third day in a row of border-line-cold-balancing. Am I gonna get sick? Am I not?

My throat is all yucky. My head is heavy. I sneeze occasionally.

Weird – usually when I get a cold, it comes really fast after first symptoms. I get niagara falls of a running nose – I need to keep rolled pieces of toilet paper stuck in my nostrils for a day or two, that’s how bad it usually is.

This time I keep feeling under the weather, not getting really sick, but not getting better, either. Ahhhh. I’m tired and bored.

Spent the whole day today crafting Halloween decorations. Got some ideas online, inhabited my staircases with paper rat silhouettes, made a garland of jack-o-lanterns (painted and cut by me), attached webs and spiders around in the corners. We are hosting a party next weekend, so if I am stuck at home – I might as well use the time and start decorating early!

I am also making my own costume this year since there are no costumes for pregnant women and the idea of painting my belly (as a basketball ball, or a fish bowl, or whatever) just doesn’t sit right with me.

I am going to be a… cupcake! It’s big enough to allow for the belly 😉 Saw the idea online, will make it myself, though. I’ll share a photo when I’m done (if I am happy with the results).

Oh, and we’re gonna have a family-oriented Halloween, first time ever! We already have 6 confirmed kids! This is gonna be interesting…

6 Responses to “From Cold to Halloween”

  1. ifserenitynow October 21, 2011 at 7:37 PM #

    Very creative. You should post some photos of all your arts and crafts. My mom made all our halloween costumes. It’s great you can sew so you can make your kids great outfits as well.

    • zygotta October 21, 2011 at 7:56 PM #

      Well.
      Last time I tried to sew something was for my Barbie doll way back when 😉

  2. eighteenyears October 22, 2011 at 9:45 AM #

    A cupcake is such a cute idea! I’m glad you’re not painting your stomach to look like a pumpkin and letting it hang out of a t-shirt. I think that looks gross… plus what kind of costume is that? A pumpkin emerging from a t-shirt isn’t REALLY a costume…

    • zygotta October 22, 2011 at 10:25 AM #

      I saw some really ridiculous costumes for pregnant – an oven with buns painted inside it. Who on earth want to look like an oversized wardrobe painted as an oven???

      I agree, I also find painted bellies kind of gross.

  3. Jet October 22, 2011 at 11:08 AM #

    Cupcake! Of course! What a good idea.

    Last Halloween I was a little over 20 weeks. I stayed home, ate candy, and slept. Good for you for going out and showing that belly!

    • zygotta October 22, 2011 at 4:11 PM #

      not going out – hosting a party!

Leave a Reply

