Heartburn…Little Heels…

25 Oct

I am tired. I so wanna sleep.

Not only do I have a cold, I also started suffering from heartburn the moment I go to bed. Which makes my throat even more scratchy. Which makes my eyes tear so bad it looks like I am crying.

So I have like 5 pillow now and I am falling asleep in a seated position. It’s a bit easier that way. But only a bit.

I am kind of scared of how it will be when the baby arrives. I am so tired just because I fall asleep around 1 am (and wake up at 7 am) – I still get 6 consecutive hours of sleep! Which soon will be a luxury – first with the increased bathroom breaks frequency, then with the baby feedings…

Oh well. No point in worrying about that now. I’ll worry about it if and when I get there.

For now – I started feeling baby’s limbs through the skin. Often if I press my fingers where my son just kicked, I can touch his little heel. He often would kick again in response πŸ˜‰

He’s getting bigger. His kicks are getting progressively closer to my liver and stomach. Soon his kicks will probably be very uncomfortable. For now – I enjoy it. He moves a lot. I can feel it, I can see it, it’s very cute.

And… heartburn-shmartburn… it’s all so worth it!

12 Responses to “Heartburn…Little Heels…”

  1. adesolaf October 26, 2011 at 2:36 AM #

    Hope the cold passes soon, but isn’t there anything a pregnant woman can take to alleviate the symptons!!!!

    Leave the worrying about lack of sleep till when the little one arrives because who knows you might just be one of the lucky few new parents who actually get lots of snooze πŸ™‚ of course lots of snooze is relative to what you get without kids!!!!

    • zygotta October 26, 2011 at 10:11 AM #

      well, I am keeping my fingers crossed that the baby will take after my side of the family – we were all good baby-sleepers (still are). My nephew slept for 6 hours straight almost from birth!!!

      • adesolaf October 27, 2011 at 11:07 AM #

        Please can I marry your brother πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

        • zygotta October 28, 2011 at 12:25 AM #

          if i had a brother… πŸ˜‰

  2. Mrs. E October 26, 2011 at 11:39 AM #

    I agree. What’s a little discomfort when the reward is so great? =) That’s so exciting that you can interact with your son–so cute! I hope you feel better soon!

    • zygotta October 26, 2011 at 11:48 AM #

      I am feeling better today, thank you. This morning I woke up for the first time since last Wednesday, not feeling like sh!t…

  3. Nikki October 26, 2011 at 2:55 PM #

    Do you have a body pillow? Not one of those regular ones that a lot of people use, but the pregnancy ones that wrap around your body? I find that they really help alleviate aches, pains, and heartburn (in addition to sleeping with all those other pillows in the upright position). Once you find a good position, it really helps a lot and it feels a lot better than pillows shoved under your back or stomach.

    in my experience, and this is just me, don’t worry about not sleeping after the baby comes. That is a whole different experience and really not that terrible. The not sleeping in pregnancy makes you way more tired and uncomfortable than new baby not sleeping – that’s just happy delirium. Even when you’re totally worn out and exhausted, it just doesn’t feel that bad when there’s a cute little guy smiling at you. Nothing is really that bad after the baby is born πŸ™‚

    • zygotta October 26, 2011 at 9:54 PM #

      i guess you’re right
      probably the simple act of smelling the top of the baby’s head already makes it all worth it… πŸ˜‰

      as to pregnancy pillow – I am not using any pillow under my back or belly – only between the knees. I sleep on my side, slightly tilted forward, so my belly is comfortably lying “by my side” (lol that sounds weird) and so far I haven’t felt any strain on my back…

  4. tasivfer October 26, 2011 at 9:45 PM #

    As you say, it’s all SO worth it!! When Eskil was born my heartburn instantly went away; I hope the same is true for you. It was lovely suddenly being able to sleep flat and not propped up. As for the lack of sleep, well the adreneline and happiness of having your bub with you helps a lot!! πŸ˜€

    • zygotta October 26, 2011 at 9:56 PM #

      I am pretty sure it will be gone – I never suffered from heartburn before…
      and I am sooo looking forward to holding him in my hands, basking in the warmth of his little body, feeling him touch me, smelling his cute baby smells…
      ah, I am sooo ready πŸ˜‰

  5. Jessica October 27, 2011 at 1:17 PM #

    Glad you’re doing all right; Tums is your best friend!

    • zygotta October 28, 2011 at 12:26 AM #

      are they safe during pregnancy?

Leave a Reply

