Buttons

26 Oct

Had to cut off the buttons on my coat and sew on  closer to the edge. That’s right, the coat that I bought about a month ago already doesn’t close on me (well, one of the buttons doesn’t… so I moved all of them). One of them ended up very crooked and not level, but I don’t care. I am not sure I am going to cut it off and sew it back on again…

My bump is pretty big now. I gained 9 kg (about 18 pounds), so I guess I will go over the “suggested” 25 pounds – although 25 sounds kind of unrealistic.

You know, I thought I didn’t gain much weight other than in my boobs and belly. But I guess everything now just looks pretty slim in comparison to these newly protruding body parts, making it look like no weight gain is happening in other body parts. I came across a corduroy skirt in my closet and decided to see if it might fit under my belly (as it used to be a bit big on me). Ha! I couldn’t even pull it over my hips!!! Well, I could – but just barely. And closing the zipper and the button was absolutely out of question. So I guess my thighs got bigger. Much bigger.

And I spoke to a friend of mine on skype today (whom I haven’t seen in a loooong time) and she told me my face rounded out.

Oh well. At least no one tells me I look like a whale. Apparently, that’s a common comment :/

I am secretly pleased that my belly is so big, though. I figure the more it sticks out – the less pressure on my organs 😉

6 Responses to “Buttons”

  1. babiesandus October 27, 2011 at 4:01 AM #

    I have a coat that’s always been a little loose around the boobs, I put it on this weekend and it could not close at all! So you are not alone!

    • zygotta October 28, 2011 at 12:23 AM #

      boobs, belly, hips…
      nothing fits anywhere anymore!
      and i still have 3 and a bit months to go 😉

  2. adesolaf October 27, 2011 at 9:01 AM #

    Yes, you are not alone 😦

    My cousin’s wife was told by her boss she looks like a cabbage patch kid (poor cousin in law had to google to see what he was referring to)

    To make matters worse this was after her mum told her a few short hours before she had put on too much weight (two in one day, poor girl bursted out crying and is now wondering if she has indeed put on too weight!!!!). She is due to have a baby in about a month, so guess it is expected. Just imagine the fright if you have not gained enough weight as well. I think you are doing good so far.

    Hope the cold and heartburn have subsided now…

    • zygotta October 28, 2011 at 12:25 AM #

      i used to hate cabbage patch kids when i was little
      i found them very ugly and couldn’t understand why would anyone want one of them
      so the positive thing is that at least your cousin didn’t have negative associations with those toys ;)))

      Cold is almost gone – but I srill cough and snore during the night, my poor hubby…

  3. Mrs. E October 28, 2011 at 1:09 PM #

    Wow, I can’t imagine telling a pregnant woman she looks like a whale! How terrible! That said, I always think pregnant bellies look so cute, no matter how big. (Hopefully the people I come in contact with on a daily basis agree because I’m already showing at 11 weeks…yikes!) I bet you look fantastic =)

    • zygotta October 28, 2011 at 1:21 PM #

      I personally really like my bump!

      We (me and my hubby) are taking tango lessons and this week we were learning a new move that required practicing in a line-dancing form, watching yourself in the mirror, to make sure you’re doing it right.

      All of a sudden I thought that I rather like what I see, even though I was wearing a tight short-sleeved turtleneck that accentuated the bump. I thought I was moving graciously, considering all the extra weight and the displaced centre of balance 😉

Leave a Reply

