Night-time Acrobatics

28 Oct

I am glad I’m such a tight sleeper. My baby is uber-active in the night time.

He moves a lot during the day, but never with such force as at night time.

When I go to bed in the evening and spend some time with a book, I can feel the night-time jumping begin.

I lay on my side, with my belly on the bed next to me, and I can feel my baby jumping with one foot and then the other one against the mattress (yeah, he already knows where up and down is). And let me tell you: he is STRONG! These are no flutters and cute kicks here and there. This are kicks.

Many women complain that babies wake them up – I guess I am blessed being a tight sleeper. I do not wake up from these acrobatics rehearsals. But I can see how this can keep someone from getting any sleep.

And the funny thing is – my colleague who’s 2 weeks behind me, excitedly told me she just felt, for the first time, a kick. Before then it was only an occasional flutter here and there. She’s almost 24 weeks! My baby has been bouncing around since 15 or 16 weeks!

I am holding on to the theory that babies active in-utero are nice, calm sleepers once they arrive. This gotta be true!!!

3 Responses to “Night-time Acrobatics”

  1. St. Elsewhere October 28, 2011 at 1:30 PM #

    Love that! I am a tight sleeper too.

    I feel the kiddo just before I finally shut my eyes, but I am sure there is a playground inside!

    • zygotta October 28, 2011 at 2:10 PM #

      mary-go-round, swings, the whole 9 yards ;)))

      • St. Elsewhere October 29, 2011 at 8:23 AM #

        Awesome! It is such a bliss.

Leave a Reply

