Second Prenatal Class

8 Nov

We had our second prenatal class today. I was surprised to learn that my hubby is concerned about the level of activity our baby’s showing – he’s afraid the umbilical cord will wrap around him! And I learned about it from his question to the instructor. He never shared this concern with me. Weird.

But the baby is active, that’s true. It’s more movement now than kicks – but so much more frequent! I have a theory that our baby boy likes to be stroked, so he is always changing poses, making parts of his body stick out, knowing I will stroke and tickle him. I like this interaction, it’s fun. I feel like we’re connecting!

We discussed the stages of “normal” labour (no c-sections, inductions, epidurals) and then watched a video of a live birth.

While the video was following a couple through contraction, I was close to tears because of compassion for the woman and all the pain she was going through. And then when the baby was born, I actually did shed a few tears, it was such a miracle…

My hubby says he really likes these courses, things are getting clearer for him. He does receive the dads’ newsletter from babycenter, but I guess it doesn’t cover everything 😉 I am glad we’re doing this together for this places us on the same page. And helps him figure out his role in the labour.

Did I ever mention the cutting-the-umbilical-cord freaks him out? I find it hilarious that he seems okay with all the other things labour-related and so touchy about something so mundane…

PS and we have less than 90 days to go… my-oh-my, time flies!

6 Responses to “Second Prenatal Class”

  1. Esperanza November 9, 2011 at 12:09 AM #

    You’re getting so close! I’m glad the classes are helpful for you both. It sounds like your man will be a really great asset when the times comes.

    • zygotta November 9, 2011 at 10:00 AM #

      Thank you, Esperanza. I really think he will, it warms my heart to see how much he already loves our baby.

  2. Mrs. E November 9, 2011 at 11:05 AM #

    90 days! That seems so fast! I can’t wait to connect with my babies the way you’re connecting with yours 🙂 He sounds adorable!

    • zygotta November 9, 2011 at 11:50 AM #

      you’ll be there before you know it!

  3. Kristen November 9, 2011 at 8:01 PM #

    Wow, 90 days is so close! Glad you are enjoying the classes. Can’t wait to go with my husband. And I know what you mean about your husband having concerns you had no idea about. We had an OB appointment yesterday and my husband overall is cool as a cucumber, but he told me the night before the appointment he had a little freak-out that maybe something was wrong with the babies…really surprised me to hear that. He always seems so calm and sure of everything… Ah, the secret lives of men… 🙂

    • zygotta November 9, 2011 at 8:42 PM #

      maybe they’re being conscious of preserving our pregnant peace of mind…

Leave a Reply

