Curious

11 Nov

A question to those who read my blog fairly regularly – how obvious is it that English is not my first language?

I am not expecting a reassuring pat on the back, I am sincerely curious to know your true opinion 😉

18 Responses to “Curious”

  1. chinkebrowneyes November 11, 2011 at 12:25 PM #

    Honestly I didn’t kno. I knew u lived in Canada and spelling of words r different but that’s it. U speak/type English fluently. 🙂

    • zygotta November 11, 2011 at 2:05 PM #

      haha, I am driving my key account director nuts (she’s from a research house in the US), pushing her to fix the spelling in the online surveys (and then the reports) so it’s all “Canadianized” 😉

      coloUr, flavoUr, etc… 😉

  2. Tanya November 11, 2011 at 12:37 PM #

    I can tell that you live in Canada from the words/spellings you use but I did not know that English is not your first language. 🙂
    I wish I were able to speak another language fluently…. Maybe one day…. (I can understand a lot of Spanish when spoken slowly but I cannot speak it or write it…)

    • zygotta November 11, 2011 at 2:08 PM #

      you know, when I moved here 8 or 9 years ago, someone shared a piece of wisdom with me: only when people STOP telling you how great your English is, can you be sure it’s really great (no one will ever think to say to a fellow native they have a great English, right? ;)).

      So I always squint sceptically whenever I hear that my English is really good or anything along these lines. But then maybe it is. Maybe that person was wrong.

  3. Esperanza November 11, 2011 at 12:49 PM #

    I had no idea that English isn’t your second language. Honestly.

    • zygotta November 11, 2011 at 2:03 PM #

      coming from a professional writer, that’s a high praise!
      thank you 😉

  4. St. Elsewhere November 11, 2011 at 12:52 PM #

    It is not that obvious…

    • zygotta November 11, 2011 at 2:09 PM #

      I am glad 😉
      years of writing reports (and even an occasional creative text) for work paid off, obviously 😉

  5. BleedingTulip November 11, 2011 at 10:26 PM #

    I wouldn’t have guessed that at all! It’s weird to learn something like that, in my head you don’t have an accent or anything lol

    • zygotta November 11, 2011 at 11:44 PM #

      LOL
      I do have an accent 🙂

      It’s not too heavy (well, not anymore, in any case), but I still occasionally run into someone who just. does. not. understand. a word. I am saying. Which is always frustrating.

      • BleedingTulip November 12, 2011 at 10:41 AM #

        So this begs the question – where are you from originally?

        • zygotta November 12, 2011 at 10:48 AM #

          The Big Enemy! What used to be USSR :)))

          • BleedingTulip November 12, 2011 at 12:31 PM #

            You have no idea how much I would LOVE to go to Russia!!!! It’s on my list of “Top 5 places to visit” along with Patagonia, Ireland, New Zealand, and Sweden.

            • zygotta November 12, 2011 at 9:11 PM #

              what an interesting combination of countries!

  6. adesolaf November 14, 2011 at 3:32 AM #

    I couldn’t tell you were not a native English speaker!!! I know you always said your family was across the Atlantic, but I just thought maybe they did the moving, not you! Then I kind of immediately thought you could be Russian and viola, I was right. I saw in the comments above, don’t know why I guessed Russia (maybe you hinted it somehow in an earlier post) Though another time I thought you could be Australian: don’t ask me why I thought so, because I really dont know 😉

    Just out of curiousity, why did you move to Canada?

    • zygotta November 14, 2011 at 8:00 AM #

      Haha, I guess my Russian-ness is oozing out of me ;)))
      I didn’t decide to move here – my ex did. But I liked here – so even when we split up, I decided to stay.

  7. babiesandus November 14, 2011 at 11:32 AM #

    Never would have known!

    • zygotta November 14, 2011 at 9:45 PM #

      i should be a spy ;)))

Leave a Reply

