My Baby Boy, Getting More and More Real

11 Nov

Yesterday I felt so close to him, I almost shed a tear of wonder.

He usually gets active the moment I get in bed, so that was no surprise. What was a surprise was that I felt hard pressure against the right side of my belly and when I gently palpated it, I realized it was his spine. I rubbed his back gently, and sang some songs, and could feel him wiggle happily. Almost as if he said “rub here, too, please!”

I sometimes feel sad my husband can’t always be around to witness things like that. By the time he got to the bedroom, he was too tired. He absentmindedly rubbed my belly with icy cold hands (baby stopped moving right away) and went to sleep. I even felt hurt – how could he not want to wait an extra minute to feel the baby move?

But I let it go. My hubby is having a hell of a week at work this week.

I went on rubbing a rocking my baby boy in my belly, feeling him kick his little heels on the other side of my belly. I am sure once the baby is born, sometimes I will be too tired to enjoy our baby – and my hubby will have to step in.

2 Responses to “My Baby Boy, Getting More and More Real”

  1. Anonymous November 11, 2011 at 11:10 AM #

    Men are not so in touch while baby is still in side the belly. Don’t feel hurt, he probably did not even realize that he was not overly attentive.

    • zygotta November 11, 2011 at 11:45 AM #

      To be fair, he is in touch most of the time. That’s why I let it go. On weekend mornings when we have time to stay in bed, we both spend 20-30 minutes watching my belly go wild and talking to it.

Leave a Reply

