Baby’s There, Even if I Cannot See Him

12 Nov

I realized that when I play tag with my son in my belly, I actually feel like he’s only hidden by a thick blanket or something. I so fully feel him – and even know most of the time which way is the head, which way are the heels – that he feels all too real.

Sometimes when he sticks out his limbs too much, I have to gently force him back πŸ˜‰ It’s too uncomfortable, when he stretches me like this.

But he’s a good boy. Kicks are more and more rare – his movements are now more fluid and gentle. And even when he kicks, he kicks my skin – not my organs on ribs (well, most of the time).

And it is just so sweet – waking up to his wiggling around, like a goldfish in a bowl… My day immediately starts with a broad smile. I can imagine how one day he will be waking up, looking at me with a smile, happy to see me when he wakes up – and I will be saying: “look who woke up! My little precious baby boy!” – and he will giggle in response πŸ˜‰

4 Responses to “Baby’s There, Even if I Cannot See Him”

  1. BleedingTulip November 12, 2011 at 12:35 PM #

    That is such a sweet image πŸ™‚ I sat here and daydreamed of the day that I will feel a little one moving inside my stomach, and get to greet my child in the morning. It’s such a warm-fuzzy-maternal image!

    Although can I remind you of this post when you tell us about being exhausted from being up all night, and when he first spits baby food in your face? πŸ˜‰

    • zygotta November 12, 2011 at 9:10 PM #

      Sure, remind me πŸ˜‰

  2. Jessica November 12, 2011 at 4:53 PM #

    I was just talking to my husband about the squirming about this morning….great feeling!

Leave a Reply

