Head Over Heels

17 Nov

Yesterday I woke up and immediately felt something different about my belly. It felt heavier. I felt more pressure on my bladder. It felt harder at the bottom.

And then when I started seeing my baby’s heels bumping through the very top of my belly, I realized that my son went into the head down position. Just over 6 months (28 and a half weeks) and he’s in birth-ready position. I hope he’s not actually planning to try and get born yet.

I know that he might still wiggle around, but since yesterday morning he stayed upside down, his heels sticking out of the top of my belly.

He’s obviously facing the front part of my body for his hands keep massaging my belly somewhere in the navel region. And he got so strong! When he’s moving hands AND feet, it feels like someone is rubbing my belly very firmly with their fingertips. It’s a very odd feeling. Actually, on Tuesday I thought my hubby was rubbing my belly a bit too strongly to my liking – only to realize he wasn’t. It was my baby boy rubbing my belly from the inside…

My belly button is pretty much completely flat now.

And… only 80 days to go!

6 Responses to “Head Over Heels”

  1. China Doll November 18, 2011 at 12:49 AM #

    Thanks for your post on my blog 🙂
    My baby boy is head down also and I was convinced I was feeling hands punching me low down on the left but the scan yesterday showed it could be kicks I’m feeling too, as his legs can also double over (all the better for toe-sucking!)… does that make sense?
    Anyway, it’s mad how strong they’re getting, isn’t it? Take care xx

    • Lindi Kriel November 18, 2011 at 2:55 AM #

      🙂 you better get started on that nursery!

      • zygotta November 18, 2011 at 10:20 AM #

        I know, I know… 😉

    • zygotta November 18, 2011 at 10:19 AM #

      It is mad, I agree. And to think they’ll keep getting stronger for over 2 months!..

  2. Shannon November 18, 2011 at 11:25 AM #

    That is so cool!!! Hopefully he stays put for the duration. 😀

    I have a hard lump at the top of my belly and I can’t figure if it’s a head or a bum. Dr. says bum, but that’s what I heard with my frank breech boy last time too! Call me a cynic I guess…. 🙂

    Can’t believe you’re almost to the 30’s!

    • zygotta November 18, 2011 at 12:57 PM #

      If he’s got bump at the top, you have got to feel his feet somewhere there, too – I think. Oh, what do I know 😉

      I know, I cannot believe we’re almost 3/4 of the way there!!!

Leave a Reply

