Upholstering the Chair, Day Two – and More Baby Stuff

21 Nov

Bought a curved needle today. The upholstering is moving along much easier now! I actually felt really cool and in the know when I walked into a fabric store and inquired whether they have curved needles and was immediately lead to where they were.

The fabric is pastel green with some green-blue-orange snails and turtles. So I am thinking turtles and snails are going to be the nursery theme. I now have grandiose plans of MAKING snail and turtle toys. We’ll see about that šŸ˜‰

Anyway, I am enjoying my upholstery project – I feel satisfied and accomplished. I am taking step-by-step pictures – which I will share when I’m done, whenever that happens šŸ˜‰ I will be pretty busy for the next 2 weeks – but I definitely am going to finish this!

On another bright note, hubby spoke to his colleague. The colleague inquired whether we have all the stuff we need for the baby’s arrival. he said – well, only car seat and crib among the big items. And just like that, out of nowhere, she offered to give away her car seat!

We got so much hand-me-downs – and gifts – that crib + mattress is going to be the ONLY big item we’ll purchase. Which releases funds to enjoy decorating the nursery! Yay!

Anyway. I am in a happy mood today. Even though I woke up at 5:30 today and couldn’t fall back asleep. Baby calisthenics didn’t help, either šŸ˜‰ Off to bed!

5 Responses to “Upholstering the Chair, Day Two – and More Baby Stuff”

  1. babiesandus November 22, 2011 at 2:07 AM #

    Glad that you are enjoying your project so much, can’t wait to see the photo’s.

    Just a warning there are expiry dates on car seats. Some can’t be used after 5 years and some only 3. Something about the materials changing which renders them not safe. And if the car seat have been in an accident you should not use it at all.

  2. babiesandus November 22, 2011 at 5:43 AM #

    http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/roadsafety/safedrivers-childsafety-notices-2007c10-menu-355.htm

    Actually if you follow that link it will give you some good info. If I remember correctly you do live in Canada?

    • zygotta November 22, 2011 at 8:35 AM #

      Thank you Lindi – I will check the chair’s brand – and the expiry date. Her baby is only about 2, so I am guessing it should be fine.

  3. Mrs. E November 22, 2011 at 8:41 AM #

    It sounds like the project is really coming along! I can’t wait to see the pictures. Oh, and I love the snails and turtles theme =)

    • zygotta November 22, 2011 at 10:49 PM #

      Thank you! At least some people *throwing a dirty look in hubby’s direction* support me!!!

Leave a Reply

