Prenatal Class #5 – Tour

22 Nov

Today was our fifth prenatal class – first we saw a video of a c-section (which was really not as good as the one I saw on baby centre… it was filmed way too far from the epicentre and staff were blocking the view all the time, couldn’t really see anything.

And then we had a tour of the facilities. I heard they’re opening a new wing, but the grand opening has been pushed back – I won’t be able to hold the baby for that long… And the old facilities are just okay. Dark, low-ceiling corridors. Tiny birthing room with flowery wallpaper. REALLY tiny. Shared bathroom – with no shower/tub.Did you know they don’t actually wash babies? Just wipe them with towels. And overall, bathing babies is unnecessary – wiping under-diaper area as pretty much sufficient.

Afterbirth rooms are a bit bigger – and they have a lovely view of Lake Ontario. Again, shared bathroom and no shower. The bassinet is a see-through plastic crate. That’s nice – I will be able to look at the baby next to me as the baby sleeps 😉

But you know what? I bet while I will be in labour, I won’t pay much attention to wallflowers. And I bet after giving birth, I will have my eyes only for my son.

What is really good is that all the staff seemed really nice and smiley and friendly. that’s more important than rooms!

Note to self: bring some “homey” stuff like a cheerful throw and a robe. And a magic bag – to heat the aching lower back up until they administer the epidural.

Anyway, seeing the rooms made the idea of having to go through labour more real. It still feels vague with over 2 months to go, but the reality of this event is starting to hit me. I am focusing on the moment when they will place my baby boy on my chest. I winder – am I going to cry?..

4 Responses to “Prenatal Class #5 – Tour”

  1. babiesandus November 23, 2011 at 7:19 AM #

    It all sounds so real with having seen where baby will be born. Must be very exciting to both of you!

    I am sure most of us will shed a tear or two at the birth of our children 🙂

    • zygotta November 23, 2011 at 9:08 AM #

      I shed a tear or two when they show us videos of other babies being born… So yes, I guess I will cry when mine arrives 😉

  2. Laurie November 23, 2011 at 11:31 AM #

    I was so exited for that emotional first meeting but I think I was too doped up on whatever your body makes to get you through childbirth. My doula shot a little video of me holding her with AH looking over my shoulder. I looked totally out of it! At the end I gave a great big SIGH. That right there pretty much summed up everything! I can’t wait for you to meet your little guy. It’s so exiting!

    • zygotta November 23, 2011 at 4:03 PM #

      Yes, I am sure I will be out of it, too. But whatever I remember as the first moment with the baby – will be my precious moment 🙂

Leave a Reply

