Welcome to the Third Trimester Complaints

30 Nov

My back was KILLING me today. Did I sleep in the wrong position? Were the meeting room chairs to uncomfortable? Is it constipation or gas pressure? Whatever it is, I was miserable until I finally got into bed at 9 pm…

I am extremely sleepy. I went to bed at 11:30 yesterday – and woke up at 9 this morning. Yes, after waking up to pee at 5 am my sleep wasn’t deep (I kept waking up), but nevertheless: I slept for 9 hours. Still not enough for the pregnant me?..

The baby is big. Most of the time if I stroke my belly, I come across little bony bumps just under the surface – a knee, a foot, a hand… Sometimes a whole bum. Only the head remains at the very bottom, applying lovely pressure on my organs. And when the baby moves – my whole belly is moving, changing shape. It’s quite eerie sometimes.

Heartburn visits me more often.

My ankles are normally swollen by the end of the day – nothing too bad, but I am glad I bough ugg knock-offs – whatever happens to my feet and ankles,they will still fit. And they’re warm šŸ˜‰

The good thing is my glucose test came back and all is well.

The awesome thing I still enjoy being pregnant, even though now I produce lots of grunts and sighs as I sit down, stand up, climb stairs and often for no reason at all.

I still enjoy my huge belly, the shape of it, the way it is still growing. I love being pregnant.

I love the closeness to my belly. You know, like I am sitting in a meeting and there is my baby with me. Moving. And I am stroking him, trying to soothe and comfort him. In a work meeting. It’s bizarre and awesome at the same time.

So overall – yes, I am starting to feel a bit tired and grumpy, but in no way am I ready to say “alright, baby, get out”.

Gro, my baby, grow – your mama loves you. Even when you try to dislodge my laptop off my lap/belly šŸ˜‰

4 Responses to “Welcome to the Third Trimester Complaints”

  1. China Doll December 1, 2011 at 4:56 AM #

    I think you put it really well – the feeling of closeness to your belly… I hadn’t really thought about it like that, but I also love that he is always there wriggling for me to cuddle and stroke šŸ™‚ xx

    • zygotta December 1, 2011 at 9:37 AM #

      I sometimes think: am I behaving unprofessional? And then I think: whatever, my baby is more important šŸ˜‰

  2. babiesandus December 1, 2011 at 6:14 AM #

    I hope the aches and pains will ease up at times. Luckily not toooo long to go anymore and lots to keep you busy with until baby arrives.

    • zygotta December 1, 2011 at 9:38 AM #

      yeah, once the baby arrives the aches and pains will be replaced by sleep deprivedness (and no, this word doesn’t exist ;)))

Leave a Reply

