31 Weeks

4 Dec

31 weeks today. So what is happening?

Don’t panic if you feel your baby moving less frequently now. She’s got less room to move in your uterus and can’t do the back-flips and somersaults you’re both used to

Hmm. This is NOT about my baby. He was so active today I wouldn’t have been surprised to wake up to a bruised belly. He was running, pedaling, punching, stretching… Pretty much all night long, it felt. It took me quite some time to fall asleep in the evening. I was awake for a whole hour after I went to pee at 5 am, being shaken to the core by my not-so-little baby boy.

Result? I woke up at 10 am. Which is waaay too late. And now I have a headache ;(

Anyway… 31 weeks. It’s a lot. I realize that I feel like I’ve been pregnant for a long, long time. As in, remember that trip to Chicago in July? Oh yeah, my first flight with the little one. Remember we went camping in June? Oh yeah, I had lots of fun with the progesterone suppositories. Remember the Cuba vacation? The trip to New Jersey? Watching that Chess musical? Corporate outing at Blue Mountain? Yes, yes, and yes – and I was pregnant at all of these occasions. Seven months is a looong time.

It’s a long journey. Long enough to get used to the idea of becoming a parent. Long enough to come to terms with the idea of going through pains of labour. Long enough to relax about the whole non-sleeping issue about to enter my life. Long enough to not feel creeped out by the idea of another human being visibly moving inside my belly. Long enough to read about pregnancy, breast-feeding, labour. To research baby gear. To have a baby shower. To slow down. To smile when your hubby calls you “mommy”.

What’s left to do in the 2 months that still remain? Prepare the nursery (paint the walls, buy and hang the curtains, add some shelves in the closet, buy the crib). Prepare all the stuff for the baby (wash and fold the 0-3 months clothes, wash the little bath tub, have the changing table ready, set the bed). Pack the L&D bag. Stop working (Jan. 17th will be my last day – a month and a half to go!). And pack as much sleep as possible.

I gained 26-27 pounds already. Is it too much for 7 months? I guess. I dunno. Not much I can do about it. I am going to see my OB tomorrow – so we’ll find out.

31 weeks – I feel like I can see the finish line already. Although I know that 9 weeks is plenty. Yawn. I am sleepy yet again.

8 Responses to “31 Weeks”

  1. Jess December 4, 2011 at 2:40 PM #

    glad your hanging in there…I’m the opposite and have never felt that pregnancy is long enough, there always seems to be more to get done first.

    Thanks for the award. I’m hoping to sit down tonight and get caught up.

    • zygotta December 4, 2011 at 9:08 PM #

      I’m sure it’s just a feeling and you’ll have everything done just in time!

  2. embracingtherain December 4, 2011 at 7:54 PM #

    Glad things are going well for you.

  3. babiesandus December 5, 2011 at 9:03 AM #

    Congrats on 31 Weeks!

    All the best for the Ob appointment, hope your Obgyn is there and not the stand in.

    • zygotta December 5, 2011 at 10:59 PM #

      No, thankfully it was my regular OB!

  4. Kristen December 5, 2011 at 8:04 PM #

    Congrats on 31 weeks!
    I think it’s so true the time we have to be pregnant is good to get used to the idea of so many different things. Being pregnant has been hard physically for me, but I also feel like how it has forced me to slow down and give up a lot of the things I normally do is giving me time to adjust to what is going to be a very different (and very happy) part of my life. The fact that there is this transition time is really good.

    • zygotta December 5, 2011 at 10:59 PM #

      Yes, I think if the baby just fell on our heads out of nowhere, there would be a lot of resentment connected to the sudden lifestyle change.

Leave a Reply

