OB Appointment #5

5 Dec

Had my OB appointment today. It turns out the secretary was wrong and my glucose test was a bit off. Not by too much – the OB thinks it probably is due to the fact that I didn’t fast (far from it… I took the test in the afternoon, having had breakfast and lunch) – and it’s off by just a bit. Regardless, she wants me to repeat the test – will do on Wednesday.

I’m on to biweekly meetings now – will see her on the 19th again. Feels weird to finally be there. Feels like home stretch.

She confirmed that baby is head down. And that he measures 1-2 weeks ahead. Actually, this was the first time anyone cared to measure my belly with a measuring tape. I don’t know what the numbers were (didn’t ask), but she “has a feeling he’s gonna be a big one”. Her suggestion? If he’s meant to be big, he will be – but I can lower my carbs intake to prevent him from getting even bigger. Apparently, carbs are the primary baby growth promoter. Other than sweets, I am not eating much carbs – so I guess I’ll have to cut my sweets intake 😦

Blood pressure is “nice and low”.

My weight gain seems to be normal to her (I was 61 kg pre-pregnancy; I am about 74 kg now).

For my leg cramps (have I mentioned I am getting leg cramps? lovely stuff that wakes you up in the middle of the night) she suggested magnesium supplements.

She said that low labour activity (both my mom and my sis had problems… my sis didn’t have contractions even after oxytocin! and my mom’s contractions weren’t strong enough) is not necessarily hereditary. She said often if your body knows the baby is too big to go through your pelvis, the contractions won’t come. And most babies in my family are big. Did I ever mention I was 9.7 pounds?..

The low milk supply, on the other hand, is hereditary (both my mom and my sis didn’t have enough). But there isn’t much I can do to prevent this from happening – just be ready that I might need to use formula in addition to breastfeeding.

All in all, everything seems to be fine. Tomorrow is our last prenatal class – and we’ll submit our pre-admission form to the hospital. It’s getting close. Precisely 2 months to go (I am due on Feb. 5).

8 Responses to “OB Appointment #5”

  1. St. Elsewhere December 6, 2011 at 4:38 AM #

    Good Luck for the glucose test!

    You are on the home stretch, definitely.

    Boo for the leg cramps. I have no advice or words on lactation. Let’s just go with the flow of things.

    • zygotta December 6, 2011 at 8:20 AM #

      Boo, indeed!
      Thank you – i feel pretty good about the glucose test. I am sure if I have it after fasting, it’ll be fine. But of course I’ll check!

  2. babiesandus December 6, 2011 at 7:15 AM #

    Good luck for the glucose test, hopefully it comes back normal. From what I hear what and when you had something to eat may often influence the outcome of the test.

    • zygotta December 6, 2011 at 8:15 AM #

      that’s what I heard, too – so I was surprised when no one told me to fast or test in the morning… just said – go and have the test

  3. Mrs. E December 6, 2011 at 10:22 AM #

    Yay for the home stretch! I am so excited for you. Good luck with the glucose test!

  4. jjiraffe December 6, 2011 at 9:08 PM #

    I failed my first glucose test too, but passed the second one. Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

