Packing the L&D Bag

7 Dec

At the prenatal classes, they told us our bags should be packed my 32 weeks – which we will reach on Sunday. I did some research, asked around, and here’s the list of what it looks like I should be bringing with me:

FOR ME:

  1. insurance cards (government/private)
  2. tooth brush
  3. toothpaste
  4. hair brush
  5. deodorant
  6. laptop?
  7. book
  8. crocs (or other rubber shoes… easier to clean, if needed!)
  9. warm socks (epidural might cause severe feelings of being cold)
  10. nursing bra
  11. huge pads
  12. nursing bra pads
  13. some liquid snacks like yogurt
  14. nipple cream
  15. night gown/pj’s? Not sure, they say the one that hospital provides is good enough
  16. breast pump?
  17. I assume I won’t need change clothes… I can go home wearing the same ones?
  18. phone
  19. disposable panties? or cotton panties with a high waist In case of c-section)
  20. hair band (you feel sooo hot while in labour)
  21. lip balm (the intense breathing cracks your lips)
  22. eye patch and ear plugs (hoping for a bit of a snooze while the epidural is in)
  23. squeeze bottle (a stream of warm water eases off the pain of peeing)

FOR HUBBY:

  1. some snacks
  2. book
  3. tooth brush
  4. toothpaste
  5. photocamera
  6. spare batteries!!!
  7. spare memory card!!!
  8. slippers
  9. extra clothes
  10. cash
  11. blanket and pillow?

FOR BABY:

  1. car seat
  2. diapers (15?)
  3. wet wipes
  4. bum cream
  5. 2-3 receiving blankets
  6. 3 changes of clothes
  7. winter thingy for outings
  8. warm hat
  9. indoors hat
  10. mitts?
  11. pacifier? (they said it’s bad if you plan to breastfeed)
  12. bottle? (ditto)
6 Responses to “Packing the L&D Bag”

  1. Mrs. E December 7, 2011 at 4:12 PM #

    I think I’m going to reference this post when I pack my own bag! I can’t believe it’s already that time for you…so exciting =)

    • zygotta December 7, 2011 at 4:26 PM #

      exciting… and weird – hard to believe!

  2. Jess December 7, 2011 at 5:46 PM #

    I still haven’t done this….It’s on my list for this weekend.

    • zygotta December 7, 2011 at 9:30 PM #

      Me neither – I just made a list!

  3. Shannon December 8, 2011 at 4:17 PM #

    Oooh! List time! What a great list you have going. I’ve got to start working on that too. I liked having different clothes to go home in because my water broke at work so I went straight to the hospital from there (and it probably would have grossed me out to wear those pants home unlaundered…yikes). I also found some pj’s that were comfy for nursing and presentable for visitors which was nice. I didn’t pack anything clothes-wise that I wouldn’t have been okay pitching in the event of it being ruined by blood, birthy stuff, etc.

    Not sure if you’ll have time (or will want to) read once baby arrives (not sure about hubs though) I brought magazines and knitting and both were untouched by the end of my stay.

    A pillow for hubs is a great idea and try to use a non-whiite pillowcase so the hospital won’t get confused.

    As far as baby goes, the nursing pillow is so,so helpful! You won’t regret bringing that!

    You’re/We’re really getting to home stretch now! πŸ˜€

    • zygotta December 8, 2011 at 11:14 PM #

      My last day at work is 2.5 weeks before EDD… I hope my water will break after I stop working.

      The reading is for before the baby arrives – and after the epidural has been administered. I am sure I won’t be into reading after labour πŸ˜‰

      Nursing pillow! Great addition!

      I don’t have any buttoned or zippered pj’s – I usually sleep in a t-shirt. SO I usually buy only pj bottoms.

      Home stretch it is! I am not scared. Yet, I guess πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

