32 Weeks & Finding the Perfect Crib

11 Dec

32 Weeks! For some reason, it feels important. Have I read somewhere that at 32 weeks chances of survival are very, very good? Maybe. Do not remember.

I know that, in general, it is said that baby gets into the head-down position by 32 weeks. While mine flipped a couple of weeks ago, I have an uneasy feeling that he might’ve flipped – again. His position just doesn’t feel the same. If before than I could feel – and see – his feet bumping out at the top of my belly, now I don’t. And most of the time bumps appear somewhere around the middle of my belly  – at the sides. And often I feel something bigger at the top of my belly (not as high as feet used to be, much closer to belly button).

I am trying to convince myself that he simply turned into the very right position, facing my back (is it called posterior?) and it’s his bum that I see at the top, and his knees that I see at the sides, but I am not sure.

Well, we’ll see. Not much I can do in any case, right?

Yesterday my hubby and I stayed in bed, amused with our baby’s activity. I hugged my hubby and we had the belly slightly squished between the two of us, so both of us felt every kick and every move (and boy were there a lot to feel!). And then the baby started hiccuping – the poor thing couldn’t stop for like 20 minutes, maybe even more. I always feel so sorry for him – I can’t even comfort him!

My hubby is certain our baby boy will be one of those babies that resist swaddling and get all red in the face if you try and tuck their arms inside the receiving blanket 😉 Most babies like swaddling – because that’s what they’re used to in-uteri, but our baby obviously likes his freedom to move and exercises it every waking moment (his waking moment).

On a separate note, we bought a crib yesterday. I really wanted a crib in natural wood (colour) but it doesn’t seem to exist! I am so frustrated with furniture stores – all the furniture, everywhere, seems to be this almost-black wood. It was really cool a few years ago, but now every store sells it – and, unfortunately, finding something in nice light wood became an impossible task. Last year when we bought our house, we gave in and bought a dark wood bed for we couldn’t sleep on the floor any longer.

And the same thing with cribs! We saw one (ONE!) crib that was neither white or almost-black – and it was a discontinued, last floor model (and it was ugly). What’s up? I personally think that furniture that dark in the nursery looks oppressive – especially when you think of other matching pieces of furniture (dresser, book cases later, etc.)

There are nice lighter wood cribs in online stores that DO NOT SHIP TO CANADA. Grrrrr.

So we bought an off-white crib (they called the colour “linen”) – and I consider this to be a very expensive purchase for something that wasn’t exactly what I wanted. Oh well. I am sure our baby won’t care much 😉

4 Responses to “32 Weeks & Finding the Perfect Crib”

  1. Laurie December 11, 2011 at 9:17 PM #

    I found my crib at Target.com, a mixture of white and espresso wood. Thankfully, I didn’t have to look to hard, I knew I wanted it before I ever got pregnant! Finding a dresser was more difficult but only because I didn’t want to spend a fortune. The one thing I looked for, and never found, was a nice chair. I didn’t want a typical glider, the recliners we saw were too big, and a more contemporary rocking chair was either impossible to find or ridiculously expensive. In hindsight it’s a good thing we didn’t find something because I don’t think we’d have used it much.

    I can’t wait to see what you do with the nursery!

    • zygotta December 11, 2011 at 10:39 PM #

      We don’t have target yet. It bought a huge chain of department stores, but the transition won’t happen until late 2012 or even 2013, I think. Canada is only 10% of the US population, so we don’t get quite as much choice as you guys do, competition is lower, prices are higher, taxes are much higher.

      But we have healthcare (that’s what a typical Canadian will proudly say ;))

      We got a gliding chair for free from our friends – I am changing its upholstery. I think I will finish it tomorrow.

  2. jjiraffe December 12, 2011 at 2:04 AM #

    I’d love to see the newly upholstered glider! 32 weeks is definitely a great point to be at.

    • zygotta December 12, 2011 at 10:14 AM #

      I’ll post pics when I’m done!

Leave a Reply

