I Finished the Glider!

12 Dec

Hours of needlework, my fingertips shedding skin, my back tired – but I am happy with the results. The glider is finished!

Here’s my curved needle (oh how proud I was when I entered a store and asked where they had a curved needle – only to realize that it is, in fact, the actual name for this needle! It said so on the package) and one of the fabrics I used:

Here’s what the glider looked like when we got it (black and worn out):

Little by little, I transformed it:

And ta-daaaam!

 

18 Responses to “I Finished the Glider!”

  1. embracingtherain December 12, 2011 at 8:11 PM #

    That looks great! I am impressed.

    • zygotta December 12, 2011 at 8:17 PM #

      thank you šŸ˜‰
      even I am impressed lol šŸ˜‰

  2. China Doll December 12, 2011 at 10:10 PM #

    What an amazing job you did! My second hand glider is being stripped and repainted by my bloke but the cushions are just getting a wash!

    • zygotta December 12, 2011 at 10:21 PM #

      Thank you!
      this one was fake leather, so wash would’ve done nothing!
      I considered repainting it and decided that enough is enough šŸ˜‰

  3. Artistmouse December 12, 2011 at 11:00 PM #

    Oh Z … This looks amazing! Congrats on a beautiful job!

    • zygotta December 12, 2011 at 11:08 PM #

      Thank you Mouse šŸ™‚
      I feel ready to tackle some other creative jobs now! I am considering using fabric leftovers for the lamp shade šŸ˜‰

  4. babiesandus December 13, 2011 at 1:30 AM #

    Wow wow wow! What a brilliant job you did!

  5. jjiraffe December 13, 2011 at 2:51 AM #

    OMG: Love!!! I am incredibly dazzled by your upholstering skills. Beautiful.

    • zygotta December 13, 2011 at 7:48 AM #

      Thank you Jessica šŸ˜‰

  6. Shannon December 13, 2011 at 12:20 PM #

    So much love for that glider! You did a magnificent job! ::hearty applause::

    • zygotta December 13, 2011 at 9:08 PM #

      ::trying to bow, but belly gets in the way::

      šŸ˜‰

  7. Jess December 13, 2011 at 1:45 PM #

    That looks awesome! Great job!

  8. Kristen December 13, 2011 at 9:12 PM #

    Wow, what a HUGE transformation! The finished product is awesome!

    • zygotta December 13, 2011 at 9:33 PM #

      Thank you Kristen! I now want to make something else šŸ™‚

  9. adesolaf December 14, 2011 at 3:27 AM #

    Just checking, are you sure you are in the right profession šŸ™‚
    It’s stunning!!!

    • zygotta December 14, 2011 at 8:13 AM #

      LOL
      doing this for money? No way, all the fun will be gone šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

