Over-sized Fish in an Under-sized Bowl

16 Dec

There are a couple of spots on my belly that feel bruised.

In one spot, just a bit above the belly button, the baby usually keeps a limb or a butt, putting constant pressure. If I lightly press there – it hurts.

In another spot, to the left, baby often kicks – it feels bruised, too.

I wonder if it’s true. If babies actually do bruise us.

I also wonder – their nails have started to grow. Can they scratch themselves in-uteri? Can they scratch me – or the sac doesn’t have any nerves in it for me to feel the scratching?

Constipation is my number one enemy right now. It’s really bad. And taking metamucil, while helping with the constipation, produces painful gas. I just can’t win. Sigh.

As much as I overall enjoy being pregnant (and as much as I still am overjoyed that I got pregnant at all), I am starting to look forward to the baby getting born. I am not yet reaching the point of “get this out of me!” – I heard many women saying that in the last stages of pregnancy – but I can see how this can happen.

He’s a bigger than average baby. And a heavy one. And a very active one.

But if anyone asked me right now – if you could, would you give birth right now – I would say no. If I have to be honest, I still enjoy being pregnant way too much. I wished for it for so long. I am not ready to give it up. Let the baby swim inside me. Like an oversized fish in a bowl that is too small for it πŸ˜‰

(Image by Glen Wexler)

4 Responses to “Over-sized Fish in an Under-sized Bowl”

  1. Mrs. E December 16, 2011 at 10:46 AM #

    Ha that picture is so great! As much as I want to keep these babies on the inside for as long as possible (and I do, very much so!), I am a little wary of the “over-sized” fish syndrome πŸ™‚ You’re doing great though!

    • zygotta December 16, 2011 at 11:04 AM #

      I really am perplexed that he’s supposed to stay inside for another 7 weeks – while adding on a FEW POUNDS.

      I seriously don’t understand where he’s going to fit those pounds. His limbs are sticking out of my belly all the time – whenever I stroke my belly, I come across a knee or two…

  2. Shannon December 16, 2011 at 11:33 AM #

    Yes! Yes! There couldn’t be a more perfect analogy!

    I concur on the bruising feeling. I have that sometimes on the right side of my belly button only and I wonder if she’s trying to turn anterior/posterior. Dr Internet is no help either. πŸ™‚

    I’ve also wondered if babies have nails, could they break their own water with a wayward scratch? And if water bags had nerves, would we feel them swimming around and bumping into it sooner than the 17-18 weeks? Oh the things to contemplate…..

    • zygotta December 16, 2011 at 11:40 AM #

      LOL
      I started feeling my super-active baby at 15 weeks πŸ˜‰
      But yeah – I guess we would’ve started feeling them earlier if there were nerves…

Leave a Reply

