50 Days to Go – Yikes!

17 Dec

Yikes! Only 50 days! *looking at the long to-do and to-buy lists*

I am starting to worry. Not about the pains of labour, though. Two things worry me the most: will the baby be healthy? Will he be okay? Won’t he have any mental or physical illnesses?

Another thing that worries me – to a much lesser extent – is after-labour pains, discomforts, etc.

Somehow the labour itself still doesn’t quite captivate my attention, imagination and fears. I see it as “well, there will be a very painful day, but it’ll be just one day, I can live through that”.

While the past-labour bloody discharge, the burning of peeing, the pains of stitches (perineal or c-section), the engorgement, etc. – that’s what worries me. Will I be strong or will I break down into hysterics and tears and self-pitying?

Pre-labour worries me less, but there are questions. Like whether I should start placing a waterproof pad in bed – just in case my water breaks down in the middle of the night? I want to protect the mattress 😉

I also wonder if no Braxton-Hicks means anything? Aren’t they supposed to “train” your uterus for the real labour? And why doesn’t my uterus exercise? Is it a sign that I won’t go in labour just like my sis – who didn’t have contractions even after the administration of oxytocin?

In short, I am starting to worry as it gets closer…

10 Responses to “50 Days to Go – Yikes!”

  1. Jess December 18, 2011 at 11:51 AM #

    I never had BH with my DD and my water broke as I was getting out of bed to go to the bathroom (I’d been having contrax for several hours before going to bed). I did have engorgement issues for one night. I had been petrified of DD starving to death and we had been supplementing with formula. If I had been just BFing her I probably wouldn’t have had an issue.

    Everyone is different, and regardless of what happens you’ll survive. It may not be the most comfortable thing or convenient, but you’ll survive 🙂

    • zygotta December 18, 2011 at 12:04 PM #

      did you do anything to protect the mattress, just in case?

  2. jjiraffe December 19, 2011 at 2:38 AM #

    My own experience was my C-section incision hurt like a mofo, but I was so concerned with taking care of the twins that it mostly faded into the background. Also, stay ahead of your pain with the pain pills in the beginning. I got too macho and skipped a pain pill. I suffered. Also, get off the pills as quick as you can once the pain subsides. They made me dopey and I needed my wits about me 😉

    • zygotta December 19, 2011 at 10:08 PM #

      I never go macho with the pills
      I head some minor surgeries like extraction of all 4 wisdom teeth at once – if it weren’t for the pills, I would’ve banged my head against the wall 😉

  3. alleycatm December 19, 2011 at 4:53 AM #

    Just found your blog and really enjoying your posts!! Good luck with everything … it is funny, when we couple of months in the TTC you think and pray of nothing else than to get that BFP but then when you do you have to worry about other things ….

    Good luck and enjoy as much as you can!!

    • zygotta December 19, 2011 at 10:11 PM #

      hi and welcome!
      Yes, I remember panicking once I got that BFP: now what?? I knew what happens on cd 1, 3, 14, whatever… but not beyond the typical 28-days cycle (or in my case – however long non-pregnant cycle)

      Now I am starting to panic re: what lays beyond week 40 😉

  4. Nikki December 19, 2011 at 12:29 PM #

    I agree with jjiraffe – don’t be macho and wait out the pain. You will pay for it dearly in the end. If they are giving you anything for pain, make sure to always take it on schedule whether you want to or not.

    Honestly, the after stuff isn’t that bad. I would call it more annoying. After my c-section, it hurt, but it’s not unmanageable (especially with the help of a lot of ibuprofen). Getting up and down are harder, but you’ll feel that way anyway at 9mo. preggo. The hard part is going to the bathroom, but – again – you’ll figure it out soon enough and it’s all better.

    You’ll be so in love with your baby and on cloud nine because you can see him every day that you won’t care as much about the little pains and problems. A good sports bra worn 24hrs a day helped me tremendously with engorgement, and that was only a big deal for a few days. After that, it’s more about waiting for the stupid leaking to stop messing up my shirts 🙂

    My hubby and I just put a towel under the sheets of our bed in case. Typically, I hear people say their water broke as they were getting up or turning over, so you’ll know pretty quickly and be able to get up if necessary. If not, it’s odorless and will clean with normal cleaners.

    And as for those BH’s – I know a lot of people who say they never had them, but my understanding is that you typically don’t know you’re having them (when they happen as they are supposed to). They should be painless and just make your stomach hard. And maybe they’ll start soon 🙂

    Glad it’s all going well.

    • zygotta December 19, 2011 at 10:12 PM #

      Yes, maybe BH are happening – although I haven’t noticed any hardening either. We were told it gets so hard you can’t dig your fingertips into the belly – that has never happened…

      Thanks for the tip on the towels!

      Sportsbra… I need to start looking for a sportsbra/nursing bra.

  5. Mrs. E December 19, 2011 at 2:10 PM #

    I don’t have much to add other than that I’m sure I’ll have many of the same concerns as the time gets closer. I am excited for you though. 50 more days! Wow!

    • zygotta December 19, 2011 at 10:13 PM #

      You’ll be there in no time 😉

Leave a Reply

