33 Weeks & OB Appointment #6

19 Dec

We hit the 33-week mark yesterday. It’s getting closer and closer and closer…

Apparently, the baby spends its waking hours with eyes wide open.

He still kicks and moves around a lot. Well, maybe not quite “around” – he stays head-down – but he definitely isn’t any less active than he was.

My photographer friend held a belly photoshoot session for us yesterday. We shall see how the pictures turn out. My hubby… do you remember that episode of Friends when Monica and Chandler want to take an engagement photo to be placed in a newspaper and Chandler always looks so creepy that Monica ends up posting a picture of her and Joey? My hubby is kind of like that in front of the camera, too.

He can’t hold a pose – he shifts and jitters. He can’t keep his eyes where he’s supposed to – trying to look at the photographer out of the corner of his eye. Looking extremely creepy 😉 He can’t smile nicely – he makes some weird… mmm… faces.

We’ll see… She took many pics – I hope there will be enough good ones. At least of me 😉

And today was OB appointment #6.

OB basically told me to go straight to L&D if anything happens for it will be hard getting a hold of anyone other than the hospital over the holiday break. And because of the holidays, the gap between my 2 appointments will be 3, not 2 weeks.

Baby still measures 2 weeks ahead – he’s at 35 weeks now (well, not the baby – the belly, which they measure with a tape).

The baby was very active during the appointment, sticking out his feet every which way, making the OB make a comment about my active alien. I wonder if he’s going to be the one who loves company and interaction with everyone around him. Many babies get quiet when an unfamiliar hand is placed on the belly – not my son.

OB said next time she’ll take a swab to make sure I don’t have some type of bacteria there which would be harmful for the baby during labour. Other than that – the appointment was uneventful. Blood pressure was 120/60, baby’s heartbeat normal. And the repeat sugar test was great.

So we have to sit around and wait to see how big it’s gonna grow. And try to be a good girl over the holidays (right… this seems unlikely… all I care about is carbs! I don’t even want meat or fish – at all).

6 Responses to “33 Weeks & OB Appointment #6”

  1. babiesandus December 20, 2011 at 1:49 AM #

    Glad that all is progressing so beautifully!

    Yup that swab is the Strep B test they do if you choose a vaginal birth. Hope it comes back all clear for you!

    • zygotta December 20, 2011 at 7:53 AM #

      thank you 😉

  2. alleycatm December 20, 2011 at 2:22 AM #

    You must post some of these photos, would love to see.

    • zygotta December 20, 2011 at 7:53 AM #

      I will – when I get them
      my friend told me it might be awhile (some computer problems on her part)

  3. Artistmouse December 20, 2011 at 8:19 AM #

    Wow, Z! 33 weeks! I know that I’m knocking on delivery’s door, but it’s so awesome that you’re a few weeks shy of it too. It seems like a long time, but these next few weeks are going to fly by . . . At least they seemed to for me.

    And I hear you about the carbs. Hubby and I polished off a pack of Dad’s chewy chocolate chip oatmeal cookies yesterday. Before the pregnancy, or even in the first two trimesters, I had so much more self-control than that. 😉

    • zygotta December 20, 2011 at 6:45 PM #

      I know! Once upon a time you felt soooo far away in front of me… like when I was 6 and you were 12 weeks… but now we’re both almost there – isn’t that crazy!
      and yes, self-control isn’t in my vocabulary these days…

Leave a Reply

