Exhausted

21 Dec

All of a sudden, I feel really, REALLY exhausted today. I wanna sleep. My feet are tired. My legs are tired. My lower back aches. My belly feels incredibly heavy. Seriously – INCREDIBLY heavy.

Although the belly heaviness I should probably attribute to the lovely third-trimester-constipation phenomena. I think I haven’t used the washroom properly for 4 or 5 days now. Ouch.

I also need to watch more closely how much I eat. I tend to stuff the same portions inside myself, but the real estate inside me is highly limited. While I sit and eat, I feel ok – but the moment I stand up, I feel it: I overate. So I now need to consciously cut down my portion sizes.

I also need to watch my carbs. Sigh. So hard when the office is flooded with gift baskets full of sweets.

I switched from yogurt-and-bread in the morning to either eggs or hotdogs. Pathetic. I am also eating less sweet fruits.And I am trying to replace rice (I love rice! I can eat rice every day!) with veggies as a side.

I try and not snack at all unless I am actually hungry.

I really worry about the size of the baby. If it’s so hard and heavy to carry this big belly around now, what will it be like in 2-3 weeks? 5-6 weeks? I still have 6.5 weeks to go…

And – probably as a side effect of the overall exhaustion – I am getting irritable. Normally I am trying to be supportive of my hubby when he goes through his periodic panic phases (so much to do! so little time!) – but now it annoys me. I get irritated by the complaints about the lack of time, or the headaches, or whatever. I am not sure exactly why. Maybe I just don’t have enough compassion any longer for anyone else, feeling so exhausted myself.

I don’t like my irritability. I am trying to suppress it. I don’t always succeed, though.

Mmm. Do I sound really down? I’m not down, really. I am just… exhausted.

from getty images

7 Responses to “Exhausted”

  1. Artistmouse December 22, 2011 at 9:45 AM #

    I think I was the same way with the exhaustion when I reached the point you’re at Z. I could never get enough rest. That’s why naps are a daily ritual for me now that I’m off. However, I could nap for two hours, get up eat dinner and go back to bed for another 10 hours of sleep.

    It’s still never enough. Especially with the bathroom trips. I went frequently in the first trimester, but the third trimester bathroom trips (even when I cut down on the amount I drink leading up to bed time) is a whole different level. I didn’t know that the human body was capabable of eliminating liquid so quickly and frequently.

    Hang in there with everything. In no time you’ll be holding your little man in your arms and all this stuf

  2. Artistmouse December 22, 2011 at 9:46 AM #

    I think I was the same way with the exhaustion when I reached the point you’re at Z. I could never get enough rest. That’s why naps are a daily ritual for me now that I’m off. However, I could nap for two hours, get up eat dinner and go back to bed for another 10 hours of sleep.

    It’s still never enough. Especially with the bathroom trips. I went frequently in the first trimester, but the third trimester bathroom trips (even when I cut down on the amount I drink leading up to bed time) is a whole different level. I didn’t know that the human body was capabable of eliminating liquid so quickly and frequently.

    Hang in there with everything. In no time you’ll be holding your little man in your arms and all this stuff will be a distant memory. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • zygotta December 22, 2011 at 11:43 PM #

      Strangely, my bathroom trips are still not all that frequent. More frequent than pre-pregnant – but nothing outrageous. I usually wake up only once to use the bathroom. Sometimes I sleep through the night!

      Well, you’re getting really close… you’re supposed to get that energy surge now. They say two weeks before labour you get all energetic and nesting?

  3. Mrs. E December 22, 2011 at 10:42 AM #

    I’m sorry you’re so tired ๐Ÿ˜ฆ That doesn’t sound like fun at all. Hang in there!

    • zygotta December 22, 2011 at 11:43 PM #

      thank you ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. alleycatm January 4, 2012 at 5:53 AM #

    Trying to catch up with all the posts but still want to say that you must hang in there and I am hoping that you feeling much better by now!!

    • zygotta January 4, 2012 at 6:31 PM #

      Thank you – I do feel a bit better!

Leave a Reply

