34 Weeks – and Merry Christmas

26 Dec

34 weeks today.

Life is getting harder. Well, heavier. Getting up from the couch is hard, I have to push myself with my arms – or use my hubby’s help. Getting up from bed is even harder. Rolling onto another side is often easier with standing up on all fours then with actual rolling through lying on the back for a second. Getting up the stairs is a chore. Eating leaves me most of the time with an overstuffed feeling – especially on days like today.

Oh yes – Merry Christmas, by the way 😉

Got a very nice xmas present from a friend today – a templated baby’s first year book. It has pages like “the first time you walked was…” or “the first time you ate solids…” – and empty spaces for photos. Very cute.

My hubby got me (among other gifts) a small knitting kit to knit baby booties. Although the instructions turned out to be far more complicated than expected (he assumed it was a beginner’s set – and I haven’t held knitting needles since I was about 13 or so).

Funny. Our baby isn’t even born yet, but he\s already – sort of – getting presents 😉

How fun the next xmas is going to be! He’ll be quite big by the time. Definitely crawling – maybe even walking! Just imagine!

I roasted a chicken today for the first in my life! Not turkey – since there were only 4 meat-eaters among us. I stuffed it with apples and sewed it tightly closed using my curved needle – the one I used to re-upholster the glider 😉 It turned out quite good. I am proud of myself.

I got briefly scared today. Baby was doing some weird twitching and then abruptly went very still. I got this fear that he died in there – I don’t know why. And I massaged my belly, and pressed on his little bum, and tried to find his feet and press – but he remained quiet. I was having an internal fight: to freak out and go to the hospital immediately – or to be rational and stay put. The baby started moving again and all is well. I have no idea why I freaked out all of a sudden…

My mom thinks that I will go in labour earlier than I am supposed to – because of the size of the baby. Well, many people seem to think that. But I haven’t heard of anyone going in labour early because of the size issues. Only having c-sections because of the size issues.

Anyway.

Yesterday was a big laundry day. I washed all baby clothes, towels, bed sheets, etc. I also sorted all the other clothes that we got as gifts or hand-me-downs for older ages and labeled the boxes and put them away. Got my baby cooshie changer today (my friend bought it for me – the store was around the corner from where she lives).

Need to wash hand-me-down toys (most of them cannot be machine-washed, so I’ll have o spend some time wiping them with soap and water). I also need to finally make the decision and choose and order fabrics for the nursery curtains. The crib should arrive in early January.

We are getting closer and closer and closer.

6 Responses to “34 Weeks – and Merry Christmas”

  1. alleycatm December 26, 2011 at 1:10 AM #

    And a very merry christmas to you!!! Yay for that chicken, sounds wonderful. Take it easy these last few days and good luck!

    • zygotta December 26, 2011 at 8:32 AM #

      Thank you 🙂
      I am taking it easier and easier
      Not by choice, though – I just get tired so quickly!!

  2. adesolaf December 26, 2011 at 4:53 AM #

    Hope you had a very merry christmas. Yours sounds like it was loads of fun.

    Made a turkey for christmas (big mistake) because friends we invited for lunch cancelled at the very last minute, 20 mins after they were supposed to arrive 😦

    So we have to get creative with turkey for the next week until we get tired of eating it, hope it doesn’t put me off turkey for life ;-(

    Enjoy the rest of the holiday!

    • zygotta December 26, 2011 at 8:31 AM #

      ouch – that’s always so frustrating when it happens… however, with turkey it would’ve been too late even if they warned you 2 hours prior to their arrival 😉

      most importantly – how did the turkey turn out?

      • adesolaf December 26, 2011 at 6:25 PM #

        I know!!

        Turkey turned out very well (even if I say so myself! I dreamt it was undercooked, so I put in extra effort) My hubby had some today and he’s not big on leftovers, so I take that as a positive sign 🙂

        • zygotta December 26, 2011 at 7:16 PM #

          very good sign! good job 😉

Leave a Reply

