De-Cluttering and Organizing the Nursery-to-Be

26 Dec

I am packing the L&D bag. I just sterilized a pacifier and a feeding bottle – just in case. I packed bra pads and nipple creams and receiving blankets (all laundered, all smelling of babies ;))

I realized I need a central place for all the manuals. Especially if I plan to re-use most of the stuff in the future – whenever we are blessed with another child. Perfect task for my hubby – he likes organizing stuff.

I have TONS of toys already (most are hand-me-downs). Seriously – I think I will ask our friends to NOT give toys to our baby. Ever. I was trying to figure out where to store them all for now – and remembered we have an old laundry hamper in the garage. I gave it a thorough wash – as soon as it dried up, I will drop all the toys in there.

We decided we need to build some shelves in the nursery – to keep boxes with toys, books, etc. We lack storage space ALREADY. I am glad we got so much stuff for free as hand-me-downs, but the amount of stuff is insane. And we don’t have a basement to dump all of this to. We’ll talk to a contractor and see how much what we have in mind will cost.

I am not sure where to keep all the baby bathing paraphernalia. In the bathroom or get a caddy to carry it around?

I am not certain whether the clean baby clothes should be zip-locked, or I am going to far (I am talking about clothes I am packing for the L&D bag, not the ones I keep at home ;)). I also am not sure whether I can just drop diapers in the bag or need a sterile ziploc?

I also need to find a logical place to keep bottle brushes and stuff.

The nursery is starting to look less like a storage space and more like an actual nursery. I need to finish the de-cluttering before the crib arrives, though.

4 Responses to “De-Cluttering and Organizing the Nursery-to-Be”

  1. adesolaf December 26, 2011 at 6:28 PM #

    Sounds like a good problem to have! Too much stuff, too little space. Your baby is definitely well loved.

    Hope he is kicking well, but not too hard 😉

    • zygotta December 26, 2011 at 7:15 PM #

      He doesn’t have much space to kick hard. But boy can he stretch!

  2. Laurie December 28, 2011 at 3:32 PM #

    “Seriously – I think I will ask our friends to NOT give toys to our baby. Ever. ” -I hope you have better luck with this than I did! Are you going to post pics of the nursery when it’s finished? I can’t wait to see it. I love the sun lamp from IKEA!

    • zygotta December 28, 2011 at 4:39 PM #

      I definitely will post pics!

Leave a Reply

