Pregnancy Weight Gain

30 Dec

My weight gain has reverted. I was almost 75 kg at my last OB appointment – but I was 73 this morning. 2 kg (or about 4 pounds) less.

Yes, at the time of the OB appointment I was badly constipated. Yes, my appetite has decreased, I eat less now – and am trying to watch my carbs intake, like the doctor has suggested.

I hope the decline in weight has nothing to do with the baby. Well, at least I haven’t noticed any changes in his behaviour.

I was about 61 kg when I got pregnant. So if (let’s say) I am 75 kg now, then I gained 14 kg so far (or just a bit over 30 pounds). Which I believe is normal weight gain. With one month left to go, I hope I won’t all of a sudden gain a whole pile…

On a separate note, I was dreaming our baby was born – and for whatever reason he was mixed race – he had black facial features, but very light-skinned. Still dark, but not black. In my dream, my hubby and I were perplexed: yes, we went through fertility treatments, but we didn’t use donor sperm!

But the baby was oh-so-cute. And his hair was golden-brown curls 😉

8 Responses to “Pregnancy Weight Gain”

  1. Artistmouse December 31, 2011 at 3:16 AM #

    Maybe you were dreaming about my baby. LOL… 🙂

    I’m just kidding.

    I wouldn’t worry about your weight fluctuating a bit at this point. Mine did too and the baby is OK.

    • zygotta December 31, 2011 at 10:58 AM #

      You know what, maybe I was 😉 But you have a girl! We’ll see what colour are her locks 😉

      I wish you all the best today – and in the new 2012 year!

  2. St. Elsewhere December 31, 2011 at 5:12 AM #

    Don’t worry about your weight gain or loss, till there is some corresponding blip in the EFW tagged with it….at this point of time I think, the gain curve tends to go up.

    I gained around 10 kgs in the pregnancy, but my BMI does not permit me to push that range…

    The net weight gain is always correlated with the lady’s BMI.

    Take Care!

    • zygotta December 31, 2011 at 11:01 AM #

      My BMI was normal. So I am not sure what that tells me.
      What I read is that on average, you gain 5 kg in every trimester.

      I didn’t have morning sickness, so I gained exactly 5 kg in the 1st, and then another 5 in the 2nd trimester.

      I am 5 weeks shy of full-term. If we take the lowered weight (73 kg), then I gained only 2 kg in the 3rd trimester. If we go by my high so far (75 kg), then I gained 4 kg. I heard I am supposed to be gaining about a pound a week, so I am not sure how this all works out.

      Well, the baby seems to be happily floating and kicking around, so I hope he’s fine.

  3. Tiffany December 31, 2011 at 1:20 PM #

    My weight totally fluctuated at the end of pregnancy too…I think it’s normal so don’t worry about it. Just make sure you are eating when you are hungry and drinking fluids. I cannot believe how close you are to meeting your sweet little baby!! Curls? How cute!

    • zygotta December 31, 2011 at 7:07 PM #

      Thanks Tiffany 😉

  4. adesolaf January 1, 2012 at 9:48 AM #

    ☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Hː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Aː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Pː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Pː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Yː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́
    ☀ ː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Nː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Eː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Wː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́ ☀
    ː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Yː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Eː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Aː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́Rː̗̀☀̤̣̈̇ː̖́
    \ | | /
    \ \ | / /
    \ | | /
    \ \ | / /
    \ | | /
    ████████
    Wish you all the best in 2012

    • zygotta January 1, 2012 at 11:35 AM #

      ooooh, what a lovely fireworks!
      Happy new year to you, too!

Leave a Reply

