One Month to EDD

5 Jan

My EDD is Feb. 5th. Today is Jan. 5th. Yikes!

At the same time, not yikes. At the same time I started to secretly wish he gets born a bit earlier. After he reaches full term – 37 weeks – of course.

This is not a “I complain, please feel sorry for me” post – I feel the need to document all the discomforts. The professional in me likes all observations documented.

Yesterday he decided to do some big-time stretching when I went to bed. Head pressing against my bladder, feet against my left ribs. Not matter how hard I tried to arch my back, or switch to the other side – he still squeezed and pushed.

Overall, since he dropped, I fell like a have a bag of stones in my belly. All his limbs are in new places now, pressing painfully against my skin. there is a spot above my belly that feels sore – because his bum is pressing there most of the time.

When he hiccups, it reverberates in my rectum. As I am typing this, he kicked me in my boob! Which is sort of resting on my bump when I am seated. Putting on pants hurts – because when I bend over, the baby puts all his weight on my bladder. The lower back started to hurt.

I just feel that we are both uncomfortable – he’s really restrained inside there, no room to move. I am all achy and grumpy.

If I stand for too long, my bum hurts. Some bones or ligaments or whatever feel kind of stuck. So when I stand waiting for my streetcar to arrive, I need to shift a bit. Otherwise keen pain shoots through those bones.

The bones on the inside of my thighs hurt under the pressure of the baby, under his and the uterus’ weight.

And I feel ridiculously dehydrated today. I keep drinking – water, tea, milk – and barely pee. Bizarre.

Is it gonna be one month more? Less? More? We’ll see. But I do secretly hope it will be less. Even though my sister will arrive on my EDD (got her air tickets) and delivering early means she won’t be around to help.

Weirdly, I don’t even feel like a bad mother for wishing to give birth early. I feel like I should be ashamed – but I am not. For what it’s worth…

6 Responses to “One Month to EDD”

  1. Nikki January 5, 2012 at 9:55 PM #

    Nope – not a bad mom at all. You’re a mom in the last weeks of the third trimester 🙂 While pregnancy is a miracle, it is lovely to simply enjoy the birth and the new baby – and it will all be here so very soon!

    • zygotta January 6, 2012 at 10:18 AM #

      Thank you Nikki – that does make me feel better 🙂

  2. Laurie January 6, 2012 at 1:57 PM #

    I had a friend who just didn’t do pregnancy well and was dying to give birth early for both of her pregnancies. She ended up going naturally around 36 weeks. I always wondered if it was because she was so petite (5’2″) and had such large babies (for that gestational age~7lbs).

    I hope things get more comfortable for you soon!

    • zygotta January 7, 2012 at 10:00 AM #

      I did do well with my pregnancy – but about two weeks started feeling increasingly uncomfortable – AND I feel like the baby is really uncomfortable. The poor thing tries to stretch and can’t. And when the hiccups starts, I feel so bad for him.

      Even now as I right this, I feel him moving, moving, moving non-stop. Slowly trying to stretch.

  3. Artistmouse January 7, 2012 at 8:07 AM #

    Awww, Z … that doesn’t make you a bad mom. As wonderful as pregnancy is, it’s super hard on the body; especially in the last trimester.

    Aside from the crap that was going on with my body, I wished for Aaliyah to came early too…I just wanted to meet her!

    Hang in there, and before you know it you’ll be holding your beautiful baby boy in your hands.

    • zygotta January 7, 2012 at 10:01 AM #

      I know, I know… one month is nothing – but I am starting to get grumpy (especially when I just can’t find a comfortable position) – and the baby hurts me more and more often.

Leave a Reply

