OB Appointment #7

9 Jan

Another appointment. From now on I will be seeing her every week – my next appointment is next Monday.

The baby (or, rather, the belly) measures at 37 weeks – only 1 week ahead (the previous 2 visits he measured 2 weeks ahead). My “diet” seems to be working! I lowered my sugar and carbs intake significantly. I also haven’t gained any weight – still at 74 kg (13 kg above pre-pregnancy).

Well, my overall lack of appetite plays a role here, too.

The heartbeat was perfect, my blood pressure was 120/60 as always. Very stable – which is very good, according to the doc.

I also had the test for some microorganism to make sure it is safe for the baby to be delivered vaginally. The ugly part was that I had to go to the bathroom and take the swab myself – front and back. I am not very apt with sticking things inside myself without a mirrow, especially when my lady bits are swollen and feel strange…

Since the baby measures at full-term, she said that if he decides to get born – he’s ready, no one will be trying to stop him. And that I should go straight to L&D if anything feels wrong, immediately.

Baby is head down, however, despite what I was thinking, not engaged (=has not dropped). So all this pressure and swelling of my lady parts was not connected to the dropping. It’s just the blood flow and general weight of the uterus filled with water and baby…

All in all, everything is fine.

8 Responses to “OB Appointment #7”

  1. Sam January 10, 2012 at 2:45 AM #

    All sounds good my dear. All the best for these last few weeks.

    xxx

    • zygotta January 10, 2012 at 6:57 PM #

      thanks Sam šŸ™‚

  2. Mrs. E January 10, 2012 at 1:34 PM #

    So glad everything is still going well. I can’t believe how close you are. Very exciting!

    • zygotta January 10, 2012 at 6:57 PM #

      On the one hand, I cannot believe 8 months have passed. On the other – a whole more month??? ;))

  3. Kristen January 10, 2012 at 6:08 PM #

    Glad everything is going so well. You must be so excited to meet your little one!!!

    • zygotta January 10, 2012 at 6:58 PM #

      I definitely am! Although the closer I get, the harder it is to imagine him, somehow

  4. eighteenyears January 11, 2012 at 4:48 PM #

    This is really exciting! A friend of mine said she got all crazy with moving furniture, then 2 weeks later — here’s the baby! Maybe that will be your story too.

    • zygotta January 11, 2012 at 5:11 PM #

      I hope so! I am worried he might get too big otherwise…

Leave a Reply

