Feeling Full, Swollen, Large, and Heavy

12 Jan

My colleagues threw my a baby shower today – got a blue basket of goodies. And then we went out for lunch – it’s almost 10 pm now but I still cannot even think of eating. That’s the way it is lately: I eat big lunch and then cannot eat until the next morning. Or eat an apple at most. Which, I guess, is not something to complain about – I am not gaining weight. However, the thing is I do crave things with my eyes – and it pisses me off I cannot eat. There’s no space!

After lunch I had a cup of tea and for about an hour afterwards, I could hear it at the top of my stomach when I walked. As if I were a walking flask…

My right nipple is INSANELY itchy. I don’t know what to do any longer, it’s KILLING ME. Tried using baby cream – didn’t help. Maybe I should start using the breastfeeding cream already?..

The closer I get to the due date, the less I can imagine it. And no amount of baby kicks and stretches can bring me closer to the idea of him being born soon, to change our lives forever. Somehow, when the EDD was further away, the idea was more relatable. Now I simply cannot believe this is really happening. Tuesday is my last day at work. My life is changing. Forever.

Ouch. The baby is doing some painful stretches right now. And he’s so strong, too! I can hardly force his feet back in when he pushes too hard.

My feet started to swell. My toes, ankles, all of it… Not too bad, not elephant feet like some women get (not yet, anyway) – but they do swell.

And my fingers, too – every other morning I cannot put on my wedding band (I still can squeeze the engagement ring on, though – it’s a bit bigger, I guess). Yes, I remove the rings the moment I get home. It’s something all the women in my family do. I cannot stand having rings on, especially when I cook or do dishes or whatever… So now in the mornings I often cannot put the rings back on before I go outside.

My face is swollen, too – my nose is rounder and plumpier.

And overall I feel large and heavy. I walk like a penguin and cannot walk any other way. When I stand up, the baby’s weight falls on the front side of my lower belly and it usually hurts. I often have to stand, all slumped, for a few seconds before I can straighten up.

4 Responses to “Feeling Full, Swollen, Large, and Heavy”

  1. jjiraffe January 13, 2012 at 2:31 AM #

    I remember the feeling of no room. That was uncomfortable. Hang in there…

    • zygotta January 13, 2012 at 6:07 PM #

      I cannot even imagine what YOU felt like – with twins!

  2. Sam January 13, 2012 at 4:48 AM #

    The last few weeks are really not elegant at all – you’re big, uncomfy and generally not so happy with the world… but try enjoy it as much as you can honey – you really do miss the good things about being pregnant once that belly is gone.

    xxx

    • zygotta January 13, 2012 at 6:10 PM #

      you know what, that’s so true! I just noticed that morning that I am generally not happy with the world. Generally, I am a happy and positive person. But these days a person that doesn’t start crossing the street the moment the streetlight changes – annoys me.To the point that I feel like rushing by “accidentally” brushing their elbow. I get angry when my streetcar is 3 minutes late. And so on and so on… I have very little patience now – it’s weird and it upsets me.

      I am trying to control these negative feelings…

Leave a Reply

