Figuring Out Contractions

14 Jan

I am feeling lower back and lower abdomen pains. And I feel like I need to poop (which I did, but still feel like I need to). The pains are completely irregular and ease off when I sit back with a pillow under my lower back, so even if these are contractions, they probably are false ones.

Let’s see how it goes. No other signs of labour. I will be 37 weeks tomorrow, plus my OB told me on Monday that the baby has reached the full-term size, so if he decides to get born, no one will try to stop him.

I honestly doubt I am in labour. But having these pains makes me realise just how close I am. That, really, any time now might be THE time. I feel confused.

4 Responses to “Figuring Out Contractions”

  1. Nikki January 14, 2012 at 12:09 PM #

    If they are irregular and they stop when you change position, move, or walk, then they are BH – but those do get stronger the closer you get to delivery.

    If you rest, walk, change position, etc and they don’t stop or they get stronger, that’s the real deal. You may also notice more pain and/or an inability to speak because of the squeezing.

    Either way – mention it to you doc next time you see him/her.

    • zygotta January 14, 2012 at 12:22 PM #

      Thank you Nikki – that’s how they described it in our prenatal classes. They are gone now, so they definitely were false – but they were painful for the first time. Before then I would only notice BH if I touched my belly and felt it go hard.

      I am seeing my OB on Monday, I definitely will mention this!

  2. babiesandus January 16, 2012 at 4:34 AM #

    I can imagin that it must be a scary time for you. Especially since a lot of woman go into labour and don’t recognize the signs, ant this is your first birth.
    All the best I am sure everything will fall into place when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

