OB Appointment #8

16 Jan

Yet another appointment. I had to wait for 2 hours today! TWO!!! That’s ridiculous. Especially since tomorrow is my last day at work. I felt really uncomfortable being away for so long.

Baby still hasn’t dropped. Still looks big – so next week I will have an ultrasound to try and estimate his size.

Perfect blood pressure.

My late afternoon tiredness got explained: low iron. Got a prescription to add to my vitamins (mmm… I’m really bad with taking vitamins… I cannot even remember the last time I took a vitamin… a week ago?)

Apparently, Eastern European women tend to deliver later than 40 weeks. Which is why baby’s size is very important: the longer he stays in, the bigger he gets. And when it’s you first pregnancy, delivering a big baby is really hard. According to my OB.

My test results from last time are all normal (the swab test to make sure it is safe for the baby to pass through my birth canal).

So… looks like the baby isn’t about to arrive yet.

 

10 Responses to “OB Appointment #8”

  1. alleycatm January 17, 2012 at 2:01 AM #

    I hate waiting for the doctors!!! They are always late …

    I wish I was you working my last day …. 🙂

    Take it easy and good care of yourself!

    • zygotta January 17, 2012 at 6:39 PM #

      my dentist is probably the only one who’s on-time
      every other doctor is always late…

  2. Sam January 17, 2012 at 4:27 AM #

    A lot can change in just a few days honey, I had my last OB appointment on the Monday – baby was not looking like he was prepared to come out any time soon – by Friday I was in labour and he was born via emergency c-section that night 😉

    Good luck!

    xxx

  3. eighteenyears January 17, 2012 at 8:39 AM #

    Oh this is really exciting! Hate you had to wait so long at the doc’s office, but maybe waiting a little extra for the baby is a good thing. Extra strong and healthy!

    • zygotta January 17, 2012 at 6:41 PM #

      I just hope he doesn’t get too big to be born. Actually, I wonder: what’s more important: to stay inside as long as he wants but to be born via a c-section due to size issues, or to be induced and born a bit early – but naturally?..

  4. babiesandus January 17, 2012 at 12:26 PM #

    Shoe 2 hours is a long wait! Hope you don’t have to wait too long after your due date for baby to come!
    Enjoy your last day at work.

  5. Mrs. E January 17, 2012 at 3:21 PM #

    Wow, two hours is a long time! I’m glad your blood pressure is good though and that you got an answer for your afternoon fatigue. That’s interesting about eastern European women delivering later than 40 weeks–my mom is 1/2 Slovak and she delivered my sister at 41.5 weeks and my brother at almost 43!

    • zygotta January 17, 2012 at 6:42 PM #

      Yes – and a lot of my Russian friends went over by about a week, especially with their first ones!

Leave a Reply

