Lots of Parcels

20 Jan

Yesterday the big package arrived – a bday present for my hubby. I got him a keyboard (piano) – he’s getting more and more into music and I am certain he’ll love it. The problem was figuring out a good spot to hide it. So we (my baby-in-the-belly and I) brought it to the top floor and hid it in a closet in the nursery. It was heavy, but not too heavy.

Today my photobook arrived. I spent quite a number of hours putting together pictures and texts – stories behind those pictures. 3.5 years, 220 pages, countless hours laying it all out, editing, proofreading… And it all arrived today – and I LOVE it! I am glad I finally did it. If not now, when?

Baby ear thermometer also arrived today – I ordered it from Costco. Every other retailer in Canada sells them at 80 bucks + taxes (which are 13% here); at Costco it was $60, shipping included. Now I have a thermometer πŸ˜‰

I also bought some small canvases to paint pictures for the nursery. I intend to copy the animals from the curtains to create a “theme”.

My hubby assembled the crib yesterday evening. I attached the mobile to it today.

Things are getting more and more real, closer and closer…

And here are a few spreads from my photobook:

14 Responses to “Lots of Parcels”

  1. Cathleen January 20, 2012 at 6:49 PM #

    Wow! The photo book looks awesome. What an accomplishment.

    • zygotta January 20, 2012 at 6:53 PM #

      Thank you πŸ˜‰ I am very pleased myself!

  2. Esperanza January 21, 2012 at 1:13 AM #

    Wow, that book looks absolutely amazing. I can’t imagine how much time that took. I make my daughter a picture book for every year and that takes ages, I can’t imagine how long it would take with all that text! Insane!

    Who did you make that with. It’s looks fabulous.

    • zygotta January 21, 2012 at 6:33 PM #

      Thank you!
      The text didn’t take long because I (thankfully) have another blog – so I lifted all the texts from there. Just edited and proofread it, pretty much. Without the blog I wouldn’t have even remembered that when we climbed the Empire State Building, there were lightbugs there – at that height! Absolute magic.
      I used blurb.com

  3. Artistmouse January 21, 2012 at 5:20 AM #

    Your photobook is beautiful!!! May I ask where you ordered it from, and did you use your own program to lay it out?

    • zygotta January 21, 2012 at 6:31 PM #

      thank you!

      I ordered it through blurb.com – and I used their free software that you simply download from their website

  4. Tanya January 22, 2012 at 8:16 PM #

    Your book is absolutely amazing! I’m planning, this week actually, to start to turn my blog into a book and I’m also planning to use blurb.com. Do you have any advice as I get started? I’m completely clueless when it comes to this! πŸ™‚

    • zygotta January 22, 2012 at 8:35 PM #

      Thank you Tanya.
      I would say decide on the structure first. Break it into parts and chapters – even if only in your head.

      And I’d say – create your own layouts, theirs aren’t really all that good (IMHO).

      And then go and fill it out, working on the layout of each page, but don’t try to perfect it before moving onto the next page. You might decide later on to have a different margin, or to add a header, or whatever – and then you’ll have to adjust all pages.

      Once you’ve filled all the pages, it is easier to finish the job – adjust layouts, proofread, etc. Much easier than when you still have unfilled sections and the job ahead feels endless.

      • Tanya January 23, 2012 at 11:12 AM #

        I was hoping to just go post by post… do I need to structure it differently? I’m overwhelmed and I haven’t even started, LOL! I just really want to do this to have our story in print. And I would be heart-sick if wordpress lost it. (I do have the first 6 months of blog posts saved in another document, but then I got lazy…)

        Also, I don’t have many pictures. Is that going to make it more difficult or boring? I’m considering going back and adding more pictures but even then, it would probably only be 1-2 pictures every 3-4 posts…

        Thanks for the tips!

        • zygotta January 23, 2012 at 11:47 AM #

          No, chronology is good, too – but perhaps have it broken down into chapters? SO that if you want to find something specific, it will be easier for you?

          Pictures/illustrations help, I think. Your posts aren’t too long, so even if there’s only 1-2 pictures per 3-4 posts – there will be at least one picture per spread, right?

          You can also interrupt the story with inserts with just pictures of the events at the time. Visiting a family, vacation, some memorable outing… Just to capture the atmosphere of that period of time. A picture is worth a thousand words, right?

  5. Sam January 23, 2012 at 4:54 AM #

    That book is awesome!

    xxx

    • zygotta January 23, 2012 at 9:27 AM #

      thank you Sam πŸ˜‰

  6. adesolaf January 24, 2012 at 9:58 AM #

    Looks absolutely amazing and it has given me much needed inspiration.

    I have been planning to turn my wedding album into a photobook and I keep wondering if it is a good idea, but seeing this, I have no doubt I have to create a photobook. It just looks like a very daunting task 😦

    • zygotta January 24, 2012 at 3:28 PM #

      It is daunting. I made a wedding one (forced myself) – and it didn’t turn out all that good. I guess I was too keen to get it over with vs. really investing time and money.

Leave a Reply

