38 Weeks

22 Jan

38 week. 14 days to go. And it all seems just so unbelievable. I just cannot imagine that in about 2 weeks there will be a baby in our house. Our baby.

It’s weird how the closer it gets, the more remote it feels.

2 weeks is such a short time. Well, unless you’re in a 2-week-wait, of course… Time is so relative.

It already feels like I went on matleave ages ago. But I worked on Tuesday. This past Tuesday.

I am starting to turn into a housewife. Cooked a big pot of soup, some chicken in paprika and even baked a cake.

And had some time to paint.

And do laundry.

And it’s only quarter after eight.

Weird.

I guess I am ready to be busy with the baby.

Alright, I’ll go grab another piece of cake and pour myself some tea, put my feet up and enjoy these last days of quiet and nothing-to-do 😉

8 Responses to “38 Weeks”

  1. Sam January 23, 2012 at 5:07 AM #

    Its so weird that you wait and wait and wait for this baby and the closer it comes to them arriving the less real it feels… even now nearly 8 months down the line I’m still in disbelief that Kade is here – he’s real and he’s MY child…

    xxx

    • zygotta January 23, 2012 at 9:25 AM #

      really? I would’ve thought that once you can see and touch them, it all gets real

      although… I kind of can touch the sticking out parts of my baby, too 😉

  2. alleycatm January 23, 2012 at 8:34 AM #

    So getting excited for you! and yes you better kick up your feet and enjoy because in two weeks time you will do nothing else than take care of you baba and when baba sleeping you will be so busy staring at the perfection that you will never get a minute again…:)

    • zygotta January 23, 2012 at 9:30 AM #

      I now go to bed, stroke my belly, usually feel his butt sticking out under my ribs, and smile: soon I will get to kiss it! 😉

  3. adesolaf January 24, 2012 at 9:28 AM #

    So so so close!!!! Yet 2 weeks must feel so long depending on what the wait is for 😉 Enjoy the last few days of being a housewife 🙂

    • zygotta January 24, 2012 at 3:30 PM #

      I know! When it’s a deadline at work, it feels just around the corner… but when it’s about a baby’s arrival – feels eons away!

  4. Jessica January 24, 2012 at 11:06 AM #

    I remember that, the waiting. I had a week and a half off of work before my daughter was born (I started a quilt…never finished it though).

    Thought of another book: Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett, as well as World Without End and Fall of Giants…also by him.

    • zygotta January 24, 2012 at 3:21 PM #

      Thank you for the reco, Jess! I red a couple of his books, but not these ones. I am ordering it from the library today!

Leave a Reply

