39 Weeks

30 Jan

Huh, I am obviously ready to transition over to the next stage. I think for the first time I forgot to post the “week number so-and-so” post on time! A few times, I posted late – but never because I forgot.

So there you are – reaching 39 weeks finally did it. I forgot to post about it. I was preoccupied with painting, watching movies (I recently discovered you can get movies for free in your local library – which just happens to be across the street), shopping for some furniture at Ikea…

People are starting to annoy me. I though usually everyone starts asking you “any news yet?” after you pass your EDD. But no. I get emails and calls on a daily basis now. Cheerfully asking “how are you feeling? any progress? any news?” People, I am still a week away from even my EDD – and then it is pretty common to go a few days over!

I assure everyone I will let them know. I inform them we’ve created a mailing list and an email will go out as soon as we have news to share. I started asking people to not ask me the question. Argh.

The furniture we bought in Ikea yesterday ( we need more storage in the nursery) barely fit into our car. After playing tetris with the boxes, car seat that we already installed, some junk in the trunk, me and hubby, I ended up in the passenger seat pushed forward to the point that I was leaning forward, the top of my head in contact with the roof of the car (bumping on each pothole which are plentiful this time of the year), my knees squeezed between the seat and the panel. Baby didn’t appreciate this weird position and kicked me all the way home (which, thankfully, is only about 10 minutes). My hubby said that now I know how cramped our baby must feel inside 🙂

Why did I leave my driving license at home??? I could’ve been driving, having squeezed my hubby in the passenger seat…

Anyway… I feel kind of sorry for my baby. I think he should be happy to get out and be able to stretch his legs and arms 😉 Well, soon enough 😉 For now – watching movies while bouncing on a yoga ball, a lunch date in an Indian restaurant. We should also try sex. Especially since, from all I am hearing, there will be no sex for at least 6 weeks post-partum…

But I am not rushing my baby. I just hope he doesn’t stay too long past my EDD.

And since I didn’t gain ANY weight over the past 4 weeks, I am misbehaving. Ice-cream, nutella and bread all around. It’s a feast!

4 Responses to “39 Weeks”

  1. Aspiring Mom to Be January 30, 2012 at 10:13 PM #

    I feel like I could have written that post. I know what you mean about people calling all the time!!

    My EDD is on Thursday. I’ve been getting texts, calls, and e-mails for days and it is stressing me out!! I know that people are just excited… but still. I think I need to just turn off the cell phone 🙂

    • zygotta January 31, 2012 at 9:24 AM #

      I am thinking of adding something like an out-of-office auto response. Only mine should say “still no baby” 😉

  2. ifserenitynow February 1, 2012 at 10:56 PM #

    Getting close. So exciting for you. Ps I hated those phone calls and texts too. I finally stopped answering or responding. It was too much. Good luck!

    • zygotta February 1, 2012 at 11:06 PM #

      I increased my online visibility – in my other blog and on facebook. People see me posting – they know I’m still home 😉 So they stopped nagging me, thankfully – this strategy is working. At least for now.

Leave a Reply

