Pre-Birth Energy Boost

30 Jan

I remember them telling us at the prenatal classes that just before going in labour (like over the last week), you not only nest like crazy – you get an energy boost. Hmmm, I am guessing I’m there.

Today, I unpacked one of the bookcases that we had bought at Ikea yesterday. I brought it upstairs, 2 items at a time (the whole box was way too heavy). I found the necessary tools, assembled, and installed it in a closet in the nursery and re-arranged all the stuff in the closet. Now I have normal storage – there was so much space wasted!

I moved the crib and glider to allow more space for 2 more cabinets/wardrobes (they have doors, drawers, open shelves… for toys, clothes, books, stuff).

I am currently doing one final laundry load of baby stuff (I got some more after my big laundry day a month ago).

I assembled the bouncer.

I hung the paintings that I painted last week.

I added a few final items to my L&D bag (liquid snacks… jello and such).

Next I will do a laundry load and set the bed for myself in the nursery – and for the baby (well, for him its only a matter of stretching the bedsheet over the mattress ;))

I am sure my hubby will be horrified that I engaged in all this manual labour, but I was super-careful to not lift or push anything too heavy. And I feel so accomplished.

I can put my feet up and watch a movie now. Or maybe I should watch it while bouncing on a yoga ball…

12 Responses to “Pre-Birth Energy Boost”

  1. Laurie January 30, 2012 at 4:25 PM #

    Good luck in the next little bit. Can’t wait to see your little one!

    • zygotta January 30, 2012 at 5:22 PM #

      Thank you Laurie 😉

  2. Kristen January 30, 2012 at 5:48 PM #

    That’s great you got so much done! And a good sigh that labor is coming soon! 🙂

    • zygotta January 30, 2012 at 6:11 PM #

      as it should! I mean, it’s 39w1d… 😉

  3. E @ Life on a Quilt (formerly Jet's Journey) January 30, 2012 at 7:15 PM #

    So soon!!!!!

    The day my water broke with J, I had gone grocery shopping and purchased TONS of food. I then proceeded to carry load after load up to our apartment – 3 stories up! Needless to say, I think this put me into labor @ 39 weeks 5 days.

    Perhaps you’ll jump start labor this way…???

    • zygotta January 31, 2012 at 9:22 AM #

      we have a 3-story townhouse (no basement), so I was also running up and down the stairs, bringing one part at a time 😉 But so far – the baby stays put. Today – spicy thai food! Meeting a friend for lunch 😉

  4. eighteenyears January 30, 2012 at 7:24 PM #

    Oooh! This sounds like an exciting time for you. I definitely vote for bouncing while watching the movie.

    • zygotta January 31, 2012 at 9:22 AM #

      and that’s what I did!

  5. Jjiraffe January 31, 2012 at 2:07 AM #

    Whoa: whole lotta nesting going on. For sure! Impressive!

    • zygotta January 31, 2012 at 9:23 AM #

      My hubby was dumbfounded when he got home 😉

  6. babiesandus January 31, 2012 at 7:23 AM #

    Wow you have been busy! I am sure that little boy is due very soon!

    • zygotta January 31, 2012 at 9:24 AM #

      well, there’s no other way for him – I am not staying preggo forever 😉

Leave a Reply

