Marley & Me

31 Jan

I watched Marley & Me today. I was pleasantly surprised – I expected it to be a shallow romantic comedy, but it was more than that. But that’s beyond the point.

The point is, it made me cry. There is this scene where they come for their first 10-week ultrasound. First, the technician couldn’t find the heartbeat with the doppler. And then she proceeds to do the u/s and, changing in face, excuses herself, comes back with the doctor who breaks the news: there’s no heartbeat and no baby.

I was bawling. Hugging my belly and telling my baby boy inside there how much I love him and how grateful I am to have him, to pass all those early ultrasounds – seeing just a pixel of heartbeat going on and off at 6 weeks, seeing beginnings of arms and legs at 8 weeks, and then even seeing him move and wiggle his limbs at 10 weeks… and then, of course, feeling him move around. All the way to now – feeling his big rolls and stretches. I cried and cried (I was home alone), telling him how we both – mommy and daddy – love him and cannot wait to meet him.

Hugs to all of you who had to go through this in real life. You are very brave and you deserve better. And I do believe – you will get there.

Humbly yours, Zygotta.

4 Responses to “Marley & Me”

  1. jjiraffe February 1, 2012 at 2:02 AM #

    Oh, I remember that scene. It made me sob. Marley & Me is a really good movie, and I will hear nothing bad about it. It’s one of the few Hollywood productions that shows the middle years. I love that it BEGINS with the Fairytale ending and shows life after that.

    • zygotta February 1, 2012 at 8:43 AM #

      I know, I tried to explain to my hubby what the movie was about and it just seemed pointless. Well, so they get a dog, kids, and move to a different state… But you’re right = that’s because it shows the realities of middle year, which are not exactly a movie material – but they executed it brilliantly here!

  2. Nikki February 1, 2012 at 8:28 PM #

    I’m very thankful that you have never had an experience like that. Very very soon you are going to get to meet your precious baby and it will be so wonderful. But thank you for trying to put yourself in the shoes of those of us who know that pain – too few people do, and it’s very appreciated.

    BTW – I’m anxiously waiting for that post that says your baby is here 😉

    • zygotta February 1, 2012 at 10:40 PM #

      Thank you Nikki. Being a blog addict, I suspect I will be one of those crazy ones that post right from the hospital… But then – who knows? We’ll see…

Leave a comment