When Is His Birthday?

3 Feb

Now everyday we wonder: will it be our baby’s birthday? My hubby even interrogates my belly: “what do you want for your birthday”? 🙂

So far, the only thing that is certain is that the baby’s going to be a Dragon (the Chinese new year has began) and Aquarius (he definitely won’t stay inside until the 22ns, when Pisces start). But which day will be the b-day?

Labour is imminent. (TMI alert!)I remember they mentioned that usually your body starts to purge everything before labour – and it is true. No more constipation, that’s for sure. I am now like a clockwork. And it feels like I get more out than in.

I pay attention to every little pain or twinge in my back and/or belly – is this it? Is this the beginning? I get the menstrual cramps in my lower back every other day now. This dreadful, uncomfortable feeling (which I almost forgot about, what with being pregnant, and rarely having periods the year prior to getting preggo).

But it looks like the 40-week mark will come and go on Sunday, and I will have to see my OB on Monday…

5 Responses to “When Is His Birthday?”

  1. Shannon February 3, 2012 at 3:27 PM #

    Ooooohhh, menstrual cramps are probably a good sign! Mine were in the front of my belly and down my legs though – hopefully back cramps won’t mean back labor! I had those pains very sporadically in the week leading up to my water breaking (which reminds me that I’d better wrap up and post my birth story!).

    And it can all happen fast too, I was “kind of” a 1 ( probably generous in the OBs opinion) at 9am for my 37w5 day appt (and had just lost my plug that morning too), my water broke at 8:15pm and Natalie was born at 12:47am. But between 9am and the water breaking was…..nothing. Not a twinge, cramp, discomfort, nothing! And you’re right about the body cleaning house before labor, that happened for me right as the real contractions started.

    If you make it through the weekend, I hope all of your cramps at least bring about some progress! You’re getting so close to meeting your little boy now!

    • zygotta February 3, 2012 at 3:32 PM #

      At my 38w1d appointment there was still no dilation. And the cervix was 5.4 cm long! That’s gonna take a looong time to thin, I guess?

      My menstrual cramps are always in the lower back, so yeah, hopefully this is not a sign of back labour…

      I am getting really close. And I am starting to get a bit more excited as the baby’s running out of time. I mean, even he doesn’t decide to appear within the next few days, he’ll be forced to!

  2. Jessica February 5, 2012 at 9:07 AM #

    My lower back was hurting me the day I went into labor and I didn’t have back labor. Hoping it’s soon!

  3. alleycatm February 6, 2012 at 3:49 AM #

    Good luck with your appointment today!

Leave a Reply

