40 Weeks – Still No Baby!

5 Feb

Well, there is a baby… it’s just still hiding inside me.

I had a few quite painful contractions yesterday. Like half a dozen. The first couple were both back and front – and then only the lower abdomen. Ouch. Probably provoked by my ongoing nesting (I was vacuuming and washing the floors).

Right now it’s noon and I am 40 weeks and no signs of imminent labour.

Frankly, every night I wake up soaking wet. Those hormones!!! And every time I think: maybe my water broke? Because my underwear is soaking wet. But no. The bed is fairly dry.

Uh, I have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow afternoon. We’ll see what she proposes we do next. I don’t wanna wait too long. Those meconium stories freak me out. They sound dangerous.

And now I am off to the airport – my sis and niece will be landing in half an hour! Cannot wait to see them, it’s been almost 2 years! I just hope my water won’t break while at the airport 😉

Urgh… I never expected to get to “week 41” tag here… But – it’s begun! And you know what? I am starting to get a bit frightened and anxious. I mean, it’s gonna hurt. I guess when I went on matleave almost 3 weeks ago, I probably “knew” the baby’s arrival was still a few weeks away. But now that I am 40 weeks? There’s no way I can keep denying what’s about to happen. And I’m a bit scared. thankfully, I don’t think about it much.

Spicy food, sex, foot massage… nada!

Keep waiting…

7 Responses to “40 Weeks – Still No Baby!”

  1. adesolaf February 5, 2012 at 2:12 PM #

    Hope your sis and niece arrived safely? And hope baby comes in good time?

    Please get a bed cover to protect your bed for when your water breaks (all my friends swear it made a huge difference) _ that’s if it breaks while you are in bed 🙂

    Here’s to week 41, but who know your little baba (baby in Afrikaans) might come before week 40 is over 😉

    • zygotta February 5, 2012 at 8:19 PM #

      Yes, they arrived safely, thank you 😉
      But baby is still inside
      so no, he’s not gonna appear before week 40 is over!

  2. eighteenyears February 5, 2012 at 6:37 PM #

    I know you’re so nervous/anxious/excited! Hope the family being there helps things feel a bit calmer. I have a feeling it will be soon. You had contractions, so not too many days away!

    • zygotta February 5, 2012 at 8:16 PM #

      Thank you Melissa 😉
      I hope it’s soon!
      Spent the afternoon on wii fit with my niece 😉

  3. jjiraffe February 6, 2012 at 1:26 AM #

    Whew, sounds like you’re in the home stretch. Good luck !!

  4. Artistmouse February 6, 2012 at 4:38 AM #

    I’ll be thinking of you this week, Z. I know that being late is a tough wait, but your little guy will be in your arms before you know it.

  5. Jessica February 6, 2012 at 3:19 PM #

    Yoga ball! I swear by it…I bounced and bounced and bounced on that thing for hours on end.

Leave a Reply

