one week old!

14 Feb

Timothy is one week old today! Unbelievable.
He is behaving in a very civilized pattern: while he tend to breastfeed almost non-stop during the day, he sleeps for 4-hour stretches during the night. And I am a tight sleeper, so even if he wakes up and fusses a bit here and there, I don’t hear it.

My incision is getting better. I still get shooting pains if I move too quickly. Standing up and sitting up are the most challenging things. Standing up with him in my hands after feeding hurts. But it’s getting better.

He now has some “playtime” – short periods when he is looking around, staring at this or that. He can focus on me for a minute or so when I am talking to him.

After his meals, he stretches his arms and legs and then proceeds to smile. It is a reflex “stomach” smile, nevertheless, it is so adorable!

He makes the sweetest satisfied noises while eating.

He starts breastfeeding in frenzic brushing of his mouth with his mittdns (his nails are too long and sharp, so he is wearing mittens). He gets so agitated that he pushes the nipple away and goes for his fist again. Sometimes someone needs to hold his hands while I direct him to the nipple. It’s so funny 🙂

He holds his head pretty well -except for right after a meal when he gets all limp like a rag doll.

He had his first bath two days ago and seemed to like it. He was all quiet and observed what’s going on with great interest.

We went for his (and mine) first walk yesterday. It was rather cold, he skept really well all the while.

We are now in line for his first pediatric checkup since the discharge.

We are exhausted, but we’ve never been happier. I can watch him forever, he’s just so adorable.

I’ll try to catch up on my blogging and share a bit more about his first days. But right now – cheers to being one week old!!!

PS I already lost about 18 pounds. I could hardly believe how swollen my legs have become during pregnancy – they look so thin now! Only 8-9 pounds to lose to get back to my pre-pregnancy weught!

10 Responses to “one week old!”

  1. embracingtherain February 14, 2012 at 11:12 PM #

    Congratulations!

  2. babiesandus February 15, 2012 at 1:54 AM #

    Wonderful, so glad he sleeps so well at night!

    • zygotta February 16, 2012 at 2:26 PM #

      you can only imagine how glad i am!

  3. Mrs. E February 15, 2012 at 8:05 AM #

    Timothy sounds like a cutie!! I can’t wait to hear more about him 🙂 congratulations, mama!

  4. jwhite05 February 15, 2012 at 3:12 PM #

    Congratulations! Enjoy that sleep: Teething is only a few months away 😉

  5. zygotta February 15, 2012 at 3:15 PM #

    You are mean 🙂

  6. tasivfer February 22, 2012 at 10:32 PM #

    ACK!!! My mum comes to visit and my internet craps out and you go and have a baby!!! SUCH AMAZING NEWS!!!! :-DD And I REALLY hope breastfeeding goes much better for you than for me. SO EXCITING!!!

Leave a Reply

