First Pediatrician Visit

15 Feb

Yesterday we had our first pediatrician visit. We don’t have a pediatrician yet, so we went to kids’ clinic in the hospital where he was born. His first home, so to speak šŸ˜‰

They sent us to wait in the cafeteria ’cause shortly before us there was someone with a case of chicken pox. No wonder the waiting area was empty (I wondered about that). I hope it wasn’t enough time for us to catch it!

The wait at the clinic wasn’t too long (about an hour and a half), which I spent drinking milk. I never used to drink milk. I hate milk. But now that I am a breastfeeding mama, I seem to crave it all the time!

Timothy is doing great. Although he lost almost 7% of his weight by the time we got discharged from the hospital (48 hours after delivery), as of yesterday he was almost back to his birth weight. I was so proud I am capable of giving him enough milk! I hope it stays that way. Even if sometimes I feel that he is permanently attached to my breasts and my nipples are extremely sore. I enjoy breastfeeding so much!

I was sort of terrified of the way the doctor carried Timothy, holding him by his neck and… one leg. As if he were a chicken, not a baby. Oh well, they know better just how tough babies are…

Timothy was screaming is if we were killing him šŸ˜‰ It was well past his feeding time, plus most babies don’t particularly like being undressed.

Anyway, he’s doing great! I can’t be happier šŸ˜‰

PS He slept from 1:30 am to 6 am, fed for an hour, and now slept from 7 am till now. 10 am. I feel so rejuvenated! I foresee another day spent attached to my breasts. But I’ll take this pattern over feeding every 2-3 hours. We like our sleep!

2 Responses to “First Pediatrician Visit”

  1. Laurie February 15, 2012 at 1:04 PM #

    Yikes! Seeing Ruby carried that way would have freaked me out too. Glad to hear that your little guy is doing well šŸ™‚

    • zygotta February 16, 2012 at 2:22 PM #

      that’s the main thing, right? let them carry him any way they want, just give me the good news šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

