Useful Advice

17 Feb

There are a few advices that proved to be very useful.

One is covering the nipple with nipple cream before the feeding. Too bad I got this advce two days after givng birth when my nipples were already sore. Cream helps him suck in much larger part of the nipple, resulting in much better latch.

Anohet advice is usng the football hold position for breast-feeding after c-section for it doesn’t put weight on your sore belly.

And when the stitches start to heal – change bf positions frequently so that the baby doesn’t suck on to the same sore parts over and over.

Making clear distinction between day ane night is a great one, too. We keep Timothy around during the day, with all the lights and noise and we keep things dark and quiet with minimum communications and almost diaper changes. This way he sleeps 3-5 hour stretches at night. Although he eats almost every hour during the day.

Hope this helps. And please share your bits of advice and wisdom.

11 Responses to “Useful Advice”

  1. Shannon February 18, 2012 at 1:14 PM #

    Let’s see….

    After my c-section, I wore Spanx to keep everything around the incision from moving around too much (I think it also helped get the tone back in my mid-section).

    Ditto the changing positions – wish I had done that earlier as I maybe wouldn’t have run into the nursing problems which currently plague me.

    How does Timothy do sleeping during the day? Is he awake all day, or does he catnap some between feedings? Natalie will eat for 15 or 20 minutes, be awake for another half hour or so then sleep for 1.5 to 2 hours when the cycle starts again. Hopefully he’ll eventually give you a little more time between feedings during the day so you can rest or run errands with him or do whatever.

    Be mindful of your supply since you have PCOS too. If you suspect any problems, that could be an underlying cause.

    That’s all I have for now, but if I think of anything else, I’ll let you know! Glad you all are getting along great!

  2. zygotta February 18, 2012 at 2:50 PM #

    Thank you Shannon! What do you mean – how is my supply connected to pcos? And how should I watch it?

    I couldn’t wear anything too restricting at first, the incision was too vulnerable. But now the maternity pants feel awesome! And I could sleep on my stomach finally, yay!

    • Shannon February 19, 2012 at 6:39 PM #

      You’re welcome! With the supply stuff, sometimes the hormone imbalances that cause PCOS can interfere with the hormones needed to make breastmilk and all the pumping/fenugreek/oatmeal in the world can’t overcome it. In that case, you would maybe need a hormonal treatment to increase supply. Timothy will tell you when your supply isn’t keeping up with his needs. For instance, after feeding on both breasts, he may still be quite fussy and hard to soothe. Or perhaps he won’t have enough wet/soiled diapers in a day, or he won’t stay on his growth curve when he goes to the doctor. I was tipped off to my oversupply issues by Natalie’s diapers. They were foamy and odd and a few Goo.gle searches confirmed what the Lactation Consultant said.

      Yay for sleeping on your stomach! Sometimes that sleeping position can lead to clogged milk ducts, but massage during nursing or heat can correct those nicely.

      As for the comment below, I second the pink milk as I’ve had that. Not when I’ve pumped, but from a crack, then the baby ingests it and has had pink spit up which is startling to say the least! If that happens, you’ll probably see black/dark flecks in the baby’s next few soiled diapers, but that’s just the old blood going through the systaem. No need to worry.

      • Shannon February 19, 2012 at 6:40 PM #

        Sorry for the incredibly long comments! πŸ˜€

      • zygotta February 19, 2012 at 6:52 PM #

        Thank you for the tips! At one week old he was gaining nicely. Let’s hope things stay that way. Or the hormonal treatment will suffice. I’d really love to keep exclusively breastfeeding him, if at all possible.

        What concerns me is that Timothy’s diapers are still sometimes green, not yellow-brown (I’m talking about poop). We’re seeing the pediatrician tomorrow, so I’ll ask…

        Pink spit-up would’ve freaked me out big time! I saw pink milk running out of the corner of his mouth, but I saw that my nipples were cracked, so I knew it’s just my milk… Thanks for the warning!

  3. Laurie February 19, 2012 at 10:01 AM #

    No one ever mentioned to me this could happen so I thought I’d mention it to you: If you ever (like when/if you start pumping) get pink milk, it just means there’s a little blood in there but it’s still okay to feed it to the baby. After all, if you were breastfeeding it would still be pink you just couldn’t see it. When that happened to me the first time I was like, WTF?!? I couldn’t believe that I’d never read anything about that considering all the breastfeeding books I read!

    • zygotta February 19, 2012 at 6:52 PM #

      Yikes.
      No one ever mentioned to me that colostrum is so yellow. I was also perplexed when I saw it…

  4. eighteenyears February 20, 2012 at 8:53 AM #

    I don’t have any good tips, but I’m glad you’re getting some great advice.

  5. Mrs. E February 20, 2012 at 6:48 PM #

    Good advice! I will definitely remember this for the future πŸ™‚ thank you!!

    • zygotta March 2, 2012 at 9:56 AM #

      i will share more πŸ™‚

  6. adesolaf February 21, 2012 at 5:47 AM #

    Advice: None, no experience on these matters at all.

    Just checking up on you. Hope Timothy is doing well and hope the visit to the ped went well?

Leave a Reply

