Timothy is 2 Weeks and 2 Days

23 Feb

I would love to post more often, but so far it’s not happening. Well, better occasionally than never, right? 😉

So what is happening?

Last week, Timothy was getting more and more fussy. Most of the evenings, I was reduced to tears by the time hubby got home (although I usually was happy and content in the mornings… but all my hubby got to see was my evening tears). He was crying and fussing which, combined with his almost-hourly requests to be fed was exhausting. I would finish the feeding and almost right away he would start crying again. What, hungry? Again??? I wouldn’t be able to calm him down and then would start crying myself. It was tough.

The ray of light was him still sleeping 4-5 hours straight at night.

And then on Saturday he started marathon-sleeping. He would eat and then sleep for 3… 4… 5 hours straight. The same happened again on Sunday. On Monday we went to see the pediatrician (we found a pediatrician, yay!) and although we couldn’t remember what his previous weight was, we were under the impression that it went down.

So these infrequent feedings started to concern me – and as if on purpose, on Monday he ate only FOUR times!!! At his age – 2 weeks!!! That was getting ridiculous, I started getting really concerned.

We decided to use my kitchen scale. We placed a salad bowl on it and started weighing him before and after each feeding. Turned out he was eating about 90 ml each time. But I couldn’t find ANY information online re: how much milk he actually needs at this stage. Is 90 ml four times a day enough?..

I started to freak out. But I just couldn’t wake him and feed. He was just not interested.

And then on Tuesday he woke up and decided to revert to his 8-times a day feeding. And I was in tears again for it seemed there just wasn’t enough milk. After three days of feeding 4-6 times a day, there wasn’t enough. He would finish the feed frustrated, purple with crying, I would start crying, too – in deep distress for my hungry baby…

In the evening my hubby brought proper scale (our friends lent it to us), and I got a prescription for some meds that help with milk production, and I started finishing each feeding session with a 10-15 minute pumping session just for stimulation. There usually isn’t anything left after Timothy eats, but I do it.

Timothy ate about 30 ml a couple of times in the evening and then slept the usual 5 hours between midnight and 5 am and then… ate about 70 ml. And went back to his occasional eating and long sleeps. But now I am weighing him and I know that he eats 70 ml on average. Sometimes 90 ml, sometimes 60 ml.

So now when he fusses after eating, I am calm. I know he is not hungry. I know it must be a burp or a poop or just tiredness bothering him.

I still don’t know if he eats enough in a day. He seems satisfied. I wake him up to feed him, I don’t let him sleep for 4-5 hours anymore except at night. Well, we are going to see the pediatrician again tomorrow am and we’ll where we are at now.

On other fronts, our umbilical cord finally fell off yesterday.

And he smiled at me for the first time yesterday. Not the involuntary “stomach smile” after a feeding, but actually looking me in the eye and smiling with the mouth excitedly wide open. So cute!!!

He plays for longer periods of time. I have a toy that has a black and white target on it and he looks at it and talks to it and stretches his hands towards it and touches it. He can play for 5-10 minutes now!

ok, he woke up- gotta go!

6 Responses to “Timothy is 2 Weeks and 2 Days”

  1. Jessica February 23, 2012 at 6:47 PM #

    I feel your pain with the eating-game. I weigh our kids every other day…they should be gaining around 1 ounce per day. Some feedings are a struggle and some are all right. Hang in there…I know it’s not easy.

    • zygotta February 24, 2012 at 12:44 AM #

      You must have so much milk to be able to bf all three!!!

  2. Shannon February 23, 2012 at 10:37 PM #

    I’m trying to reply and wordpress won’t let me! boo…..It could be that it is very long……

    Do you have an email for the blog that I could contact? I would post my email in a comment if it could be deleted eventually so we could chat. I have been where you are and have some things to share.

  3. zygotta February 24, 2012 at 12:39 AM #

    Yes – it’s my blog name at ymail dot com

  4. Laurie February 24, 2012 at 3:36 PM #

    The frequent feedings were SO frustrating. Ruby would eat every two hours most of the time. It was like I got done feeding her and she was ready to eat again. My husband would say, “I think she’s hungry.” and in my head I had JUST fed her, even though the two hours had passed. But don’t worry, it will pass. Good for you for sticking it out!

    • zygotta March 2, 2012 at 9:55 AM #

      i know, that’s how i often react: I had JUST fed him, how could he possibly be hungry again?? 🙂
      thankfully, he doesn’t eat like this all the time
      it comes in clusters

Leave a Reply

