getting better

27 Feb

So I grit my teeth and persevere. Following an advice from la leche league consultant, I didn’t take Timothy from the breast when he emptied it thoroughly. This resulted in him hanging on my breast for 6 hours straight with only bathroom breaks on Saturday. Then we went for a walk to get him to sleep and he was back on my tit for another suckling marathon session. He still needed a formula supplement in the evening, but only 60 ml this time.

And on Sunday he was eating normal. And I was pumping and collecting after each feed and gathered 50 ml – enough to leave him with hubby and get for a little while for the first time. So rejuvenating. And then I got back and started pumping even more after each feeding. Now even if he is hungrier than what I have in the breast, I can feed him my milk from a bottle and not formula. I have 65 ml already in the freezer and about 40 ml and counting. All collected since I got home at 6 pm yesterday.

I so so hope the meds and pumping will do the job! Looks like my milk supply is increasing already. We didn’t supplement AND I was able to store some milk away! The world is getting brighter.

Sorry for typos. Mobile posting isn’t the most convenient thing 🙂

10 Responses to “getting better”

  1. Cathleen February 27, 2012 at 10:58 AM #

    That’s good to hear. Hopefully all will turn ok.

  2. adesolaf February 27, 2012 at 9:50 PM #

    Things are looking good again! CONGRATS 🙂

    • zygotta March 2, 2012 at 9:44 AM #

      thanks 🙂 it looks like they do!

  3. Mrs. E February 27, 2012 at 11:30 PM #

    You’re doing such a great job! Huge kudos to you for sticking with it. I hope it gets easier and easier!

    • zygotta March 2, 2012 at 9:44 AM #

      well, compared to your “sticking with it”, I am not doing anything!!!

  4. Shannon February 28, 2012 at 9:40 AM #

    Yay! I’m so happy for you and so glad you were able to get a little bit of a break even. Keep up the good work mama!

    • zygotta March 2, 2012 at 9:45 AM #

      Thank you Shannon – and thank you for all the advice!!!

  5. Kristen February 28, 2012 at 2:22 PM #

    Glad things are getting better and sorry for all the trouble you’ve had breastfeeding. From what I hear and read you are not the only one! So great you’re working so hard to persevere…

    • zygotta March 2, 2012 at 9:46 AM #

      I guess we all learn our perseverance lessons through our ttc sagas…

Leave a Reply

