I Love My Sleeping Baby

17 Mar

Timothy is an awesome nighttime sleeper. Has been ever since he was born. 4-5 hours stretches during the night? Easily.

When I was struggling with my milk supply issue, everyone was telling me that I should wake him up for feedings every 3 hours. Including the night. They were saying: baby this small sleeping for 5 hours? This just isn’t right.

I have to guiltily admit: I secretly thought people were envious because their babies don’t sleep that well even now that they are over 1 year old. And then I spoke to my mom and my sis and they both told me that in our families babies do that – sleep well and long at night. Right from the get-go. So I decided not to wake Timothy for nighttime feedings.

Milk supply issue resolved itself with Timothy requesting feedings all the time during the day and sleeping happily through the night.

Later, I read that after the first 2 weeks, you should let baby sleep as much as he wants at night – once the milk supply is established. So I was right, after all. And Timothy, who is 5.5 weeks old now, sleeps 4-5 hours at a time most of the nights.

Today I woke up stunned: Timothy went on 7 hours between feedings!!! Which means I slept for 6 hours straight! He had a bath last night, I started feeding him at 10:15 pm and he woke me up at 5:15 am! Needless to say, my boobs were very heavy and hard, and I was worried he would get full with one boob and I’ll have to pump the other (and I really wanted to go back to sleep, not pump… especially since I didn’t bother washing the pump parts and the bottle the previous night). But he ate one boob and most of the other one (with some sleepy pauses here and there).

You know what’s even more amazing? It’s not like I put him in bed fast asleep from the boob. Most of the time he’s semi-awake or fully awake. Last weekend, after the time change (daytime savings or whatever the name), I put him to bed an hour earlier than usual. I fed him in semidarkness, turned on the humidifier for the noise, turned on the video monitoring camera and left the room. Timothy stayed awake for almost an hour. In total silence! We kept checking through the camera – he was just lying in bed, staring either at the camera light or somewhere else (the night light was on, so he could just see stuff). He didn’t cry or fuss or anything. And then he feel asleep.

Amazing. I thank him every morning for letting mama sleep πŸ˜‰

Daytime sleeping is a whole different story, though. He wakes up, eats, then it’s playtime and around 1-1.5 hours after he woke up, he starts to get cranky and fussy. I now know that it’s because he wants to sleep but he can’t fall asleep on his own, for some reason. I have to hold him, give him the pacifier (he does not take the pacifier at night), even rock him. And then once he’s asleep, transfer him to the playpen. He usually wakes up a bit at this point, but falls right back asleep.

I am not sure why falling asleep is such a problem during the day – if at night it’s so easy – but hey, I prefer it this way than the other way around πŸ™‚

I don’t really have any night time routine. We bathe him rarely and I don’t want a bath to be part of the routine – I know it will get too cumbersome at some point, to have it nightly. All I do is change his diaper, then turn down the light so that I just can see what I am doing (we have a dimmer), feed him without talking or any noises, turn on the humidifier, swaddle him, let him sleep.

I don’t know if today’s 7 hours of sleep is a sign he’ll be sleeping for longer stretches now; regardless, 4-5 hour stretches are great. I love my baby. He’s awesome!

10 Responses to “I Love My Sleeping Baby”

  1. embracingtherain March 17, 2012 at 7:13 PM #

    Glad things are going well for you.

  2. St. Elsewhere March 18, 2012 at 3:31 AM #

    You know if Timothy lets you sleep this well, you will be able to feel refreshed and rejuvenated faster….it will let you catch up on your sleep….so much better for mummy and kid!

    • zygotta March 18, 2012 at 12:31 PM #

      I stil dream of uninterrupted sleep, but I know that I shouldn’t complain πŸ™‚

  3. St. Elsewhere March 18, 2012 at 3:32 AM #

    Maybe Timothy can teach my daughter a few tricks? For sleeping?

    • zygotta March 18, 2012 at 12:32 PM #

      I honestly don’t know how he does that… I am just glad he does

  4. alleycatm March 18, 2012 at 4:29 PM #

    So glad to hear things going so well! Enjoy

  5. Sam March 20, 2012 at 7:05 AM #

    Kade was the same – slept really well at night but the day’s… oh the days were very different… but as you say it’s better that way! It was much easier for me to deal with a wakeful baby when the sun was up…

    Way to go Timothy!

    xxx

    • zygotta March 21, 2012 at 12:41 PM #

      Exactly my point. And I am learning to catch his signs of sleepiness earlier now before the meltdown starts πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

