Post-Partum Body Changes

17 Mar

Timothy is 5.5 weeks old. I look in the mirror and analyze what I see.

While I lost two thirds of the gained weight pretty much right after birth (and no wonder – Timothy alone was one third of the extra weight!), I still have a jelly belly thing going on. It’s not big, not to me in any way in comparison to the huge bump I used to have, but I am still in maternity pants. No pants would close on me.

And I tried a jacket – same thing. Won’t close on me. Furthermore, it’s tight around the upper arms.

So once I am done breastfeeding, I will have some weight-struggle to do…

Throughout the whole pregnancy, I was stretchmark-free. I got some on my boobs now. Just a couple, but they are there. Which reconfirms the hereditary nature of stretchmarks: my sis also has stretchmarks only on her boobs, after two pregnancies.

My boobs are huge and heavy and seem drooping to me. I look at them and wonder what will they look like once the milk is gone.

Linea negra is still there, as vivid and visible as ever. I wonder how long will it take for it to go away.

I got lots of beauty marks or whatever they are during pregnancy – on my belly (quite a few along the linea negra) and on my boobs, primarily. I wonder if they will go away. Most of them are the sticking out kind of beauty marks which makes me thing they are warts or something else. Maybe I should see a dermatologist. I never had spots like this before. Well, I’ve had two since forever, and that’s it.

My hair has started falling out again. It’s weird. I got so used to mess-free bathroom, and it’s my hait everywhere again – in the bathtub, on the sink… everywhere! And from what I heard, it’s only gonna get worse.

My navel is all an innie again, but a HUGE one like a crater. Don’t know if it’ll become smaller again, once the loose skin of my belly (hopefully) tightens up?

The c-section scar is still red red vivid. And it seems that while the scar is just below the hair line, the inner scar is above – that’s where the skin is tender to the touch; that’s where there’s unevenness in the belly outline, sort of a step.

Saddest of all, I got hemor.rhoids. Not from pushing (as I did none) but from all the constipations during pregnancy. So far, I was not lucky dealing with it using a cream. I switched to suppositories. Huh, I am glad that I know so well how to use a suppository after I spent 3 months shoving them up my @ss in the first trimester twice a day, two pills at a time… Now I can do it in no time, with my eyes closed, so to speak.

My face, on the other side, is normal again, not all puffy with a potato of a nose that it used to be in the last months of pregnancy.

And my legs! I was never fond of my legs, but a few days postpartum I looked at my legs while showering and was struck by how thin they are. I mean, I know you retain lots of water during pregnancy and all, but I didn’t realize just how much my legs were swollen. They seemed like sticks to me 🙂

And then I realize that heartburn is gone, that I can finally sleep on my belly (well.. not really – now my boobs are in the way),

Best of all, my hormones are restored and I have sexual drive again. Now I only need to wait for this bleeding to FINALLY stop. Argh.

No, actually, best of all is that my body produced a whole new human being, grunting and screeching in his playpen now. In his sleep 🙂

4 Responses to “Post-Partum Body Changes”

  1. St. Elsewhere March 18, 2012 at 3:26 AM #

    LOL Zygotta, you punched in a chockful of information there!

    I also have a droopy belly….more than the soft pudginess, the lower end of my tummy right above the scar overhangs a bit. I am planning to meet someone who can show me exercises to get this thing under control because it upsets me everytime to look at myself in the mirror.

    You know, lot of women actually keep in shape by breastfeeding…but I guess it does not work that way…that boob thing….I think of it too…what will happen when the milk goes away…and more specifically will I be able to go back to my original size.

    I got stretch marks on my lower belly, not very visible unless you are very close to me, and well, get to peek at that part. But I seem to have beaten heredity on it….my mum has stretch marks emanating from her navel and covering almost her entire belly!

    And sleeping on my tummy…happy to get that back!

    • zygotta March 18, 2012 at 12:36 PM #

      Yeah, lately I don’t seem to have the time to post many separate posts, so I packed all under one heading.

      Do you have linea negra? I really wonder how much longer it’s gonna stay.

      I totally hear you on the overhanging belly bit, it frustrates me, too. But that’ll have to wait, I think it’s too early for exercising. I haven’t even had the 6-weeks check-up yet.

      Glad you didn’t get your mom’s all-covering stretchmarks!

      • St. Elsewhere March 19, 2012 at 4:21 AM #

        My linea negra appeared during my previous pregnancy, and then I became pregnant a few months after I gave birth…needless to say, it never quite disappeared.

        It would be interesting to see if it fades now…

        My doc gave me the 8-week-wait-before-you-exercise deadline….

        I am glad about the stretch marks too….

        • zygotta March 21, 2012 at 1:14 PM #

          I haven’t seen a doctor yet. Isn’t it crazy? They let you out of the hospital 48 hours after a c-section (a major surgery, eh?) and don’t check on you for 7 weeks then!

Leave a Reply

