When and How to Put to Bed?

19 Mar

Got this interesting chart in a newsletter today:

Image

So somewhere between 1 month and 3 months, Timothy is supposed to be transfer from sleeping 8 hours a night to 10 hours a night.

Right now He goes to sleep after a feeding somewhere between 10 and 11, then eats somewhere between 4 and 6, and then wakes up between 7 and 8. Which is the suggested 8 hours, but not the desired 10 hours. He naps a lot during the day (like right now).

Hmm. Maybe I should start putting him to sleep at 8-9 pm and let him sleep (with 2 feeding breaks) until 7-8 am? Right now he has a nap before his 10-11 pm feed. Perhaps this should be turned into the first phase of night sleep?

In the article, they also recommend putting baby to bed sleepy, but somewhat awake – and NOT after a feeding. Hmm. Right now I usually wait for him to nurse in the evening – and then put him to sleep. Perhaps I am on the path to create a bad sleeping habit? Maybe I should just decide that from now on Timothy goes to bed at 9 pm. He’ll demand his milk when he wants it.

What do you think? When your night time starts?

10 Responses to “When and How to Put to Bed?”

  1. Tanya March 19, 2012 at 6:07 PM #

    Every child and every family situation is different. You need to do what works best for both of you. For example, my daycare kids don’t see their parents much in the evening if they go to bed at the recommended 7:00 or 8:00. Many of them stay up until 9:00; but the kids make up for it by taking a 3 hour nap in the afternoon. This works best for these families. Other SAHMs that I know like the shorter nap/earlier bedtime because it breaks up the day and doesn’t take a huge chunk out of the day… I would concentrate on making sure he’s getting the recommended amount of sleep (or more) each day and not worry about when it’s happening…

    • zygotta March 21, 2012 at 12:43 PM #

      Yeah, this is something to consider… My hubby often comes home after 7 pm… Hmmm…

      On the other hand, I read that there is a “magical time” – if the baby goes to sleep at a certain time of the day, they fall asleep easier, faster, etc.

      On the other hand, it contradicts the notion that every day is different, some days they are more tired than others… We’ll see how it goes, I guess. But for now I’ll start trying to start “night time” earlier, around 10 pm.

  2. adesolaf March 20, 2012 at 12:05 AM #

    You have to do what works for you and Timothy, we all know babies don’t come with a manual, so I wouldn’t give it too much thought as long as you have a healthy growing baby πŸ™‚

    • zygotta March 21, 2012 at 12:44 PM #

      wouldn’t it be easier, to have a manual? πŸ™‚

  3. St. Elsewhere March 20, 2012 at 3:25 AM #

    Oh wow…I should show that chart to Figlia…she needs to know the data!

    What do you think? When your night time starts?

    Well, night time here as well starts around 10. The crankiness hits around 9 o’clock though. But Figlia would wake up (on an average) around 12, then 2, then 3:30, then 5, then 6:45….got the idea? The numbers are approximate, but that is how often we get up in between….

    When its a lucky nite,, Figlia will sleep straight till 1/1:45, and then do the waking up pattern.

    I always make sure that I don’t put her down unless I burp her. And she sometimes ( = often) sleeps on my chest before she hits the bed…

    • zygotta March 21, 2012 at 1:09 PM #

      Mine was at 11-12 pm, which is now getting to be too late, I think. I am slowly moving Timothy’s night time to start at 10 – like yours, seems to make more sense.

      I am sorry you cannot get some well-deserved rest. The good news is this is just a phase. Hang in there!

  4. Artistmouse March 20, 2012 at 4:02 AM #

    My hubby and I were discussing this the other day; about trying to put the baby to bed earlier. Right now she goes to bed anywhere between 10:30 and midnight, and she usually naps somewhere between 8 and 9:30 p.m. I usually nurse her to sleep. I don’t mean to, but she just dropped off into a deep sleep while nursing.

    Which brings me to the other thing you brought up: putting the baby down when she is not fully asleep. I’ve tried this. It doesn’t work for AJ right now. If she’s not out, she wakes up the minute we put her down and won’t go back to sleep without some help. However, I noticed recently that she’ll just drift off to sleep during the day for naps (for which we have no real schedule).

    So as it stands now, AJ is not getting 10 hours a night, unless you also count the time when I let her sleep on me after her 6/7 a.m. feeding and I also get another hour or two, or sometimes three.

    AJ will be three months on Saturday, so perhaps I will try to be more firm next week about a real schedule. A girlfriend of mine told me that her son didn’t really take to a schedule until he was three or four months old.

    • zygotta March 21, 2012 at 1:12 PM #

      Same here – I don’t mean to, but Timothy just dropped off into a deep sleep while nursing in the evening.

      And I also let Timothy sleep with me after his 7 am feeding to get an extra hour or so for myself.

      Let me know how it goes with introducing a schedule!

  5. Jess March 21, 2012 at 1:19 PM #

    I used to make myself crazy with the sleep thing and feeling like a bad mom because of it. A napped really well, but didn’t sleep through the night until 18 months (up at least once a night), finally my husband said, enough and refused to let me go in there. Also my husband doesn’t get home until 8 or later some nights and he wants to see the kiddos. Do what works for you πŸ™‚

    • zygotta March 21, 2012 at 5:28 PM #

      That’s the thing – whatever you do, you always dread being the awful mom…

Leave a Reply

