Goo

27 Mar

For the past few days Timothy’s breathing has been getting more and more noisy. It was obvious he’s got mucus in his throat. Especially after a long period on his back – like after sleeping – he would sound all bubbly in his throat and wheezy.

Today I got really concerned – he was crying and obviously had difficulties breathing.

Since there was no fever involved, instead of going to the emergency, we called a friend (thank God my hubby’s best friend is a doctor!).

Mucus in his throat? Occasional cough? Occasional retching noises?

Turns out he has a running nose, but because he spends his time on his back, all the mucus runs down to his throat and thickens there enough to create a mucus plug. Babies as small as Timothy cannot cough it up, and if mucus gets too thick – can’t swallow it, either.

The cure?

1. Saline drops + nose-cleaning bulb

2. Giving an ounce of water in the morning: milk doesn’t help clearing the mucus

I gave him the saline drops and right away a huuuUUUuuuge boogie made appearance out of his nostril. He was screaming at the top of his lungs as I was using the bulb on him. But it looks like his breathing got a bit easier.

Will keep doing this and see how it goes.

Poor Timothy, I feel so bad for him, so helpless against the ugly mucus 😦

17 Responses to “Goo”

  1. Artistmouse March 28, 2012 at 4:51 AM #

    Poor little guy!

  2. Sam March 28, 2012 at 4:55 AM #

    Not sure if you can get them in Oz but try get a Nosefrida – much better than the bulb for both you and baby – they still don’t like them but they get the boogers out MUCH quicker than the bulb and you don’t have to stick them up babies nose which can hurt their membranes…

    xxx

    • zygotta March 28, 2012 at 3:22 PM #

      Thank you Sam – I actually recall I got something that looks like this for my baby shower… gotta look for it!

      PS I’m in Canada, not Oz πŸ™‚

      • Sam March 30, 2012 at 3:51 AM #

        Ooooops! Sorry! Why on earth did I think you were an Aussie – HUGE apologies πŸ˜‰

        Hope you find it and it works for you and T xxx

  3. alleycatm March 28, 2012 at 6:06 AM #

    Ag shame man! Lucky you for that doctor’s friend, think I must make one before getting pregnant πŸ™‚ Hope he is doing better

    • zygotta March 28, 2012 at 3:23 PM #

      So far he’s the same, unfortunately… but at least I feel better (because I am doing something!!!)

  4. Mrs. E March 28, 2012 at 5:01 PM #

    Oh no 😦 Poor baby! I’m glad you’ve figured out a solution though. I hope he feels better soon!!

    • zygotta March 28, 2012 at 7:54 PM #

      I hope so, too… the only other way for him to clear his throat is throwing up – I hope he doesn’t need to 😦

  5. jjiraffe March 29, 2012 at 2:09 AM #

    You are so lucky to have a friend who is a doctor. That’s awesome. Hope the goo drains away soon!

    • zygotta March 29, 2012 at 5:03 PM #

      I know! Before Timothy was born I never even really thought about it. But then I called him when I wasn’t sure if I was in labour or not. And then I asked him to remove the c-section staples. And then I needed help when we had breastfeeding problems…

      And now I know how lucky we are!!!

  6. adesolaf March 29, 2012 at 3:49 PM #

    Poor baby, Poor mummy!!!!!

    Hope he is much better very soon?

    • zygotta March 29, 2012 at 5:04 PM #

      My friend told me her baby had mucus until he started to sit up 😦

      • adesolaf March 30, 2012 at 5:36 AM #

        Noooo!!!!! 😦 😦 😦

        Every baby is different, so I’m hoping for mummy’s peace of mind that would not be the case with Timothy

        • zygotta March 30, 2012 at 9:56 AM #

          I hope so, too
          But so far I am sucking out his snot 😦

  7. babiesandus March 30, 2012 at 5:01 AM #

    I hope your little man is doing better!

Leave a Reply

