Resuming DTD

30 Mar

Just got a call from my gyno’s office – she’s got stitches in her hand and is not examining anyone. My post-natal appointment was scheduled for today. Now they rescheduled it to… April 20th. I guess I am not going to wait until then for her okay and go ahead and DTD. Seriously, it’s been long enough already!

Although I am still spotting. Which is VERY annoying. Just a little bit – but still, annoying.

I read that with the bleeding there is a high risk of infection but spotting is not bleeding, right?

Now, the other question is: should we use birth control? I mean, I never managed to get pregnant on my own before. I rarely ovulated, for that matter. But having another baby right now isn’t probably in the plans.

Hmmm. Tough decision.

8 Responses to “Resuming DTD”

  1. An Aspiring Mom to Be March 30, 2012 at 11:30 AM #

    We aren’t going to use it. We had a really hard time getting pregnant/staying pregnant (boo, PCOS!). We want more kids, I’m almost 30, and I don’t want to be having them when I’m a lot older. Plus, my husband and I would be totally fine with another baby… mentally, financially. An oops would be ok…

    I talked to my OB at my postpartum appt. I expected him to try to talk me out of going without bc, but he didn’t. Obviously he knows my fertility history and understood. He did of course remind me that I COULD get pregnant… in fact, he told me that he’s had pts that get have gotten pregnant 2 months after having a baby! Of course, exclusively breastfeeding impedes fertility makes the chances of that slim… but still possible!

    Good luck 🙂

    • zygotta March 31, 2012 at 9:27 AM #

      I will be 33 soon, my hubby is 8 years older…
      we discussed it yesterday and decided to go with the flow
      if we happen to get preggo on our own – so be it
      like you said, chances are not skyscraper-high…

      I exclusively breastfeed, I have PCOS, I had only two periods in the whole YEAR before we started treatments – so I seldom ovulate

      yes, I could get pregnant. I guess having perfect baby in the face of Timothy gives me courage to have another one right away – if it happens…

      let’s see what happens with you and I 🙂

  2. Jess March 30, 2012 at 5:48 PM #

    I think after my first pregnancy we waited like 3 weeks lol….this time probably about the same. As for birth control, there is always a “chance” you get pregnant….keep that in mind.

    • zygotta March 31, 2012 at 9:28 AM #

      Yes, I know
      We talked about it yesterday and we both decided that we are ready to take that chance

      We haven’t DTD yet, though – this type of discussions aren’t the mood-setter 🙂

  3. Sam April 2, 2012 at 4:33 AM #

    Just a word of advise, I found the first time we dtd after Kade to be slightly uncomfortable and a bit tender afterwards.

    Good luck finding the time to dtd while caring for a new born – we only managed to not be too exhausted and snuck some nookie in at around 11 weeks 😉

    • zygotta April 2, 2012 at 9:32 PM #

      haha, yes – so far we only discuss that we are ready to resume dtd, but haven’t had the energy to actually DO it 🙂

  4. babiesandus April 2, 2012 at 6:04 AM #

    I heard recently that it is not safe to fall pregnant so soon after a C-Section, don’t know how true that is, want to discuss it with my FS after baby is born. So just find out about that….

    • zygotta April 2, 2012 at 9:30 PM #

      Hmmm… I guess this makes sense, with the scar being so recent and still healing and all… I will look into this

Leave a comment