8 weeks ped appointment + immunization

4 Apr

We had our first immunization shot today. Thank to Artist Mouse’s post a few weeks ago, I asked the nurse if I can nurse Timothy during the shot. The nurse got all excited and said that that would be great! (Now I wonder why don’t THEY suggest this?..)

So she gave him an oral immunization drops (something for stomach virus, I think?) and then I put him on the breast and she gave him a shot in the hip. Timothy cried out for a second or two and got right back on the breast.

Then I had to switch the breasts – it turns out the immunization goes in both hips – this time Timothy got a bit more upset and cried for maybe 5 seconds and got back on the breast.

That’s all. It’s been 2 hours now, he’s peacefully sleeping.

I am hoping he won’t develop a fever.

Everyone said he did great.

All in all – it turns out he’s in 97% percentile. At 8 weeks, he’s 6 kg 440 g (that’s 14 lb and 3.16 oz) and 64 cm (25.2 inches). Smiling, making eye contact, peeing, pooping, sleeping through the night… The doc said he wins the best baby prize today 🙂

4 Responses to “8 weeks ped appointment + immunization”

  1. babiesandus April 4, 2012 at 12:26 PM #

    Sounds like you have yourself a little champ on the hands there! Glad to hear it went so well and I will remember the breastfeeding trick in the future(if I can pull off BF)!

    • zygotta April 4, 2012 at 8:50 PM #

      I will say: try to make it to 3 weeks. From all I have read, once you’re past the three-week mark, it’s all much easier.

  2. Kristen April 4, 2012 at 7:57 PM #

    Glad everything is going so well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

